Sugar Glider - An Original Poem

in #poetry8 years ago


Oh, little glider
Born into captivity.
Don't you want to be free
Or are you just like me?
Has atrophy attacked
All your instincts and skills.
Handicapped
With soft muscles
And a misplaced
Trust in humanity.
All your life
Your needs were met
By outside hands
That you will never know.
Robbed of an entire world
Full of mysteries
Just outside the glass.
How many questions
Would you be able to solve
and what treasure lies
Between your darting ears
That follow every sound?
Can you hear into
The microscopic world
And am I also in there
Along with you?


I see your mind
ticking away
Too smart to understand.
I wonder where
Do your limitations lie
Maybe in your DNA
or somewhere inside my eye.
How many times have you tried
To enlighten the animal
That wonders why?
Did you ever try
To explain God
And the meaning of life
To a man full of gibberish?
Are you dieing to cry out
About all the things you know?
But alas no vocal chords
And an owner
without the intelligence
To understand.
Can you remember
Who you were before,
Was it a cow
Or maybe a bee?
But inside your onyx eyes
All I see is me.
None of this seems
To bother you.
What is it that you know?
If only I could make things better,
I would gladly help you flee.
I hope someday
We get a better life,
Born outside of captivity.



Link to unedited image source
Sort:  

Thank You :)

This poem is very well written. Your rhythm held me captivated as I moved through each line. Great use of imagery. The allegory here is beautiful, though sad, the idea was very well presented and received.

Thank you!

@alchemage
Thank you so much for taking the time out to write this, I really do appreciate it.

Thank you for sharing this material, I like what you posted. Thank you so much

@jlufer
Thank You
I am really glad you liked it and chose to comment :)

I hope people can realize this has nothing to do with a sugar glider. One of the deepest poems I've read by you. Good stuff.

Thank You
I am glad you like it :)

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62549.96
ETH 3022.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67