Don't touch Day 51.

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Don't touch me, I'm not really here
I've slipped further in between

Touch and I'm reeled back
Snagged, caught and locked

Ceased to write, just watch the night
Sky, as it passes me by

The night not black but charcoal
Lamenting urban tones

Dreary eery luminary pallet
Lit white within an instant

From neighbouring bathroom halogen
Startled clouds transfixed on stage

To entertain, distract, defer the hollowness
Gangs of ghoulish phantoms appear

Greying as they draw distance
Elongating, silently continuing on

To someone else's scape between

As one flock passes the next appears
Emerging above roof tiles

Peacefully they float upon the gap of stage
Between the red brick fortresses

Transforming the nothingness to a dream state spectacle
Where everything falls away into the stream of grey

Voicelessly it calls, upon the breeze
A soulful wordless song

Ambivalent yearning tethered soul
Response muffled into the dark

Muted melody betrayed by beating heart
Drumming in my ears

mockingly out of time and partnered
With tinnitus' bansheed screech


If I'm really very quite, I lay completely still
Breathe so very slightly as I rest upon this sill

For just a fleeting moment I am but a wisp of cloud
If I stay motionless enough hidden under blanket shroud

When you reached and touched my shoulder, with that contact I propel
From my tethered heaven and back into to this carcass hell.

head-172351_640.jpg

Sort:  

This is next level! A little scary! What I want to know is.... is this exactly what you are experiencing or is it metaphorical ?

Yes it's autobiographical. I spent hours under the night sky on my suburban balcony last night, watching the clouds. I fell asleep out there and woke at 1am when it rained. It's just after 1am here now.
I did wake from a state other than sleep when my husband touched my shoulder and I snapped at him those very words don't touch me.
I... We... are having a difficult time with intractable pain. It has not been easy. I have a connective tissue disorder called Elders danlos syndrome. I thought when I was officially diagnosed last year that I would also get the help I need. But it is largely misunderstood where I live and has in fact been an impediment to help and hope.
But we all have stuff. The clouds were a comfort.

Yes I’ve read about your condition
On your friends post you tagged in one of your poems. Heart warming how you both helped each other.
I also wondered at that time if medical Marijuana would bring you any relief?

A state other than sleep, interesting.

I need t go look on some clouds and hold a meditation. Been awhile since I’ve done that

More like the description of a mystical being that need s to be handled carefully. Nice

<3

Surreal, eerie and awesome. Some really amazing phrasing and word choice. Loved it:)

Awesome writing! Much soul immersed in it. Strength, @girlbeforemirror!

<3

I have always been such a daydreamer, often oblivious to the physical world around me. This poem describes perfectly my feeling of being jerked back to reality. But I’m finding the importance of being in touch with my physical side. It is not the enemy I once thought.

@girlbeforemirror You have received a random upvote from @botreporter because this post did not use any bidbots.

I don't have a lot of voting power, but I did want to thank you just the same. Please consider it a thumbs up and perhaps next time we meet, I'll have more SP to share with you.

I have never used a bidbot. 🐟 I'm talking to a bot. OK, thanks. 💃😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65189.35
ETH 3155.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60