You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Acceptance

in #poetry6 years ago

I like the storyline, geekorner, as always you tug the reader in quickly and provoke deep emotion.

One question. Did you purposely separate my self? I find a new meaning if so, different nuances, by doing so.

I find it interesting that the price is two coins. It makes me consider the act as more valuable.

The passenger looks at me with my own eyes.

I like this, and I have actually used this in not-so-many words in my own writing. Years ago, this seemed to actually "happen" to me, can't explain it, but that line! Nice verse.

Sort:  

Thank you!

"My self" is purposefully separated. Yes. During editing, someone commented on that, and I made it clear that it is very much intended. "Myself" means "me", "My self" means "part of my psyche," here, referencing to talk of "The Self".

I find it interesting that the price is two coins.

The price for crossing River Styx is two coins, and why people were buried with two coins placed over their eyes.

The passenger looks at me with my own eyes.

I think I've come across this image before. It's a powerful one. The dichotomy and the loss of space and identity of seeing yourself in front of you. And why I find it so easy to just unintentionally self-hypnotize while looking at myself in the mirror, into my own eyes.

I assumed my self was intentional. Thank you for clarifying that. Your explanation of the two coins did bring back the story to me.
Again, I loved the poem and all the rich layers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58080.30
ETH 3102.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40