Mockingbirds – a new poem

in #poetry6 years ago

Mockingbirds


Hither cometh the mockingbird singing
In the early moments right before dawn
Some will think it’s love that it’s bringing
And some are unwittingly drawn
These mockingbirds all sing together
Some parts of their songs are the same
All parts of their songs are forever
Their performances win high acclaim


Some people don’t like mockingbirds much
They annoy them when they try to sleep
Some songs they sing aren’t true as such
In the nighttime it’s ever so steep
Near morning as the hour approaches
Is the time that all new songs are learned
Morning light scatters invading roaches
Mockingbirds get what they’ve earned.


People who listen to mockingbird songs
Sometimes don’t know what to think
Mockingbirds just can’t right any wrongs
But the wrongs sung by them cause a stink
Don’t listen to some mockingbirds singing
If their songs are unreal or aren’t clear
It may not be love that they’re bringing
And it may not be truth that you hear

Source for all photos used in this post:

Mockingbirds © free-reign 2018

Sort:  

Lovely poem, @free-reign!

PS: I've found your post after after @insight-out featured it in an entry for The Pay It Forward Contest

Thank you, @trincowski, and I think it's great that @inside-out used my poem in her entry to the contest. It's really nice to be surprised like this with nice folks doing nice things. Cheers!

Lovely poem about a pretty bird. Very cool.

I found your post thanks to @insight-out featuring you in this week's Pay it Forward Curation Contest. Keep up the great work!

I agree, they are very pretty, and brave. They go after hawks, crows and other birds that wander into their territory, though I have seen them work with crows to drive a hawk away. They're also a friendly bird, probably the most near-tame bird I've ever seen. One used to visit me often, but I think it has passed on now.

Thanks for your encouraging words!

Deep and meaningfull poem @free-reign😉 you can talk about this little awesome bird so clear and at the same time you can talk about someone too😊 luv the words you put in here.. for a non-english speaker, I really enjoy this piece. Thanks for sharing 😄

Found your post through @insight-out entry post in the #payitforward contest this week.

Thank you, @cicisaja for stopping by and reading, and for your very nice message about me and the poem! I'm indebted to @insight-out for bringing so many nice people here to read it. Very sweet of her, and all of you!

I wonder how you poets find the words to write the art. That is because I do not have the poetic and creative mind to do so. 😊

I kind of smile about how you ended it.

Don’t listen to some mockingbirds singing
If their songs are unreal or aren’t clear
It may not be love that they’re bringing
And it may not be truth that you hear

I thought, yes don't believe them. It's a mock after all! 😃

That is lovely poem! Thanks for sharing it. I came across your post through @insight-out who featured it for the Pay It Forward Curation Contest. You too can join the contest.

Thank you for your kind words @macoolette, and you're right - mockingbirds are great imitators as well as beautiful singers. They even imitate sounds made by human-made things like cameras, chain-saws, etc. When I hear one singing, I always stop and listen. It's uplifting!

I grew up in the province where my elder brothers used to catch me birds from the farm when we were young. Most of them are quail though there were few that I do not know what kind of bird. There were ones that looked that one on your photo though I never really knew. I wondered about it when we left my birthplace and I got to know "To Kill A Mockingbird" book by John Grisham during college. I wish I can encounter a mockingbird now... 😂

How beautiful poem is!

Thank you for reading and commenting @aggamun. I appreciate it!

Delightful little poem! I enjoyed the first stanza the most - was "unwittingly drawn" in by that first quatrain!

I'm glad you like the poem, and especially the first stanza. Key parts of the whole story are there. Thanks for reading and commenting on it! 🍻

Hey there, @free-reign! I really liked your poem, so I featured it in my weekly entry for Pay it Forward Contest. Here is my post about it. I hope you like it!

Hi @inside-out, I'm glad you like the poem, and honored that you chose to feature it in your entry. I'm hoping you win! 😃

Thank you, @free-reigh. It was pleasure reading your work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56615.57
ETH 2387.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30