OLD AMSTERDAM (An Original Poem & Tribute to SteemFest)

in #poetry8 years ago (edited)

One final tribute to a truly magical weekend.


Old Amsterdam

Canals, crisp air,
ornate gables and
picturesque, narrow lanes,
once traveled down
they leave you refined,
never feeling quite the same

bells cast a spell of charm
nearly seven hundred
and fifty years deep
as the spirits of the past
coax us with their stories,
hear them laughing
while they weep

From the moment I left
I felt slightly jilted
with a certain ache
to return to the very place
that past and present
pool and coalesce

I'm filled with the
warmth and light
of many new friends
and renewed hope
that our world
can pull out of its freefall

time and space
aren't half the measure
heart and feeling are
but I must set sail
to seek my dreams,
navigating by the stars
I will return, old Amsterdam.


Did you miss my posts about SteemFest? If so click here to read them:

SteemFest Post #1
SteemFest Post #2


Thanks again to all of the wonderful people who contributed and took part in this epic event!


To follow my unfolding story please visit my website here to sign up for my author newsletter.

Sort:  

Brilliant poem @ericvancewalton Thank you for making it to SteemFest and supporting the event as you did! :)

Thank you, @firepower, and we all appreciate the work you did as well! This past weekend cemented bonds that will last a lifetime.

It causes me a huge pleasure to read your works sir @ericvancewalton, this poem is a nice tribute, it is a pleasure to visit your post congratulations and many thanks for sharing

Much appreciated, @jlufer! Thank you!

This poem certainly makes me want to travel!

It makes me want to go back. : )

Very nice poem. I tend to be bored with this kind of rhythm and description, but you managed to keep me until the very end. I love how you're work seems to feel so familiar and yet not all that generic. I'll be waiting for your next post!

Well put, @indigowaltz. And spot on. ;)

Thanks @indigowaltz and @fairytalelife! I'm really happy you enjoyed it. That place cast a spell on me something terrible. : ) It may even figure into our future plans to spend much more time there. One thing I noticed at Steemfest is how all similar we all are. I'm going to be posting about that soon.

Thanks @fairytalelife, I'm glad you can relate to what I said. Oh, and I really look forward to more from you @ericvancewalton!

You are making us even more sentimental :-)

Nice poem it shows how much you enjoyed it!
Steem on :)

You really got Amsterdam, Eric. What a joy to read. I miss it too.

Thanks, my friend. We'll definitely carry a small piece of it with us until we can make it back. Thanks for being a part of our memories.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65178.97
ETH 3261.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68