HardFork (An Original Poem)

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

It has struck me
to my very core,
the concept of
a life honestly itself.

Immediate desires
strike frigid shadows
that bare no weight,
have no strength.

Lust lingers warm for
two things alone,
a world without walls,
a life not so small.

Such an arresting void
is this blank sheet of vellum
on which we etch out
the sanctity of our dreams.

It will soon be so,
I can feel it in my bones
my heart now resides
in this new home…

HardFork


(Gif compliments of Giphy.com)

alt text

*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.

My new book on meditation, The Perfect Pause, has been discounted to $12.99 (paperback) and $4.99 (eBook) for a limited time. Buy the paperback and receive the eBook for free!

Connect with Me

www.ericvancewalton.net

alt text

alt text alt textalt text alt text alt text

Sort:  

This is fantastic @ericvancewalton! Shivers down the back of my neck!

Thank you, Doug! That same thing happened to me when I wrote it!

Only who understand the Hard Fork understand the poem!

There is some hidden meaning in there, great catch! Thanks!

Oh... you know... ;)

When i see poetry, i automatically upvote with my imposing 0.02 worth. ;)
Started a bit of crypto-haiku 10 days ago,
this new found love for poetry feels wonderful.

Hahaha...wonderful! Love the Gif. Poetry is such a great form of therapy and expression. Good luck in your writing!

Your poem reflects your full realization and happiness to this new and exciting beginning which will fulfill a life dream. There are so many possibilities and you are headed in the right direction and with the right people. You've traveled a hard road but because of the bumps along the way, you can totally appreciate this new opportunity. Embrace the joy and never look back. Experience the wonderful now and live every moment to its fullest! I am so happy for you! :D

Thank you! This totally feels like "the project" that will change everything on so many levels. I couldn't ask for a better team of individuals to be working with. I'm older than most of them but they're teaching me a lot. The collaboration thus far has been amazing. It's going to be very transformational, I can feel it. : ) Thanks again and take care! Always great to hear from you!

Prelude to a ...Series.

That shirt is killer, Barry! : )

We need to get Amstel one.

LOL

Your book has great reviews and I am going to have to grab a copy especially since your poem is so deep and the waiting for the new Hardfork series is making my mind go in different directions!
You can use my Fractal Art if needed in your posts about the Hardfork series - either from my posts or from new ideas you may have. I'd be very happy to help!
The animated gif caught my eye straight away on this post!
There are a few of us, Fractal Artists here, so you are not short of great art!

Thanks! We're actually very open to your ideas. Please feel free to post some of your Fractal art with the hardforkseries hashtag and we might be in touch in ways we can use it. We're very much trying to make this series a community project. I appreciate your interest!

Cool, I will get my mind working on what would be relevant as far as my work. I will post some new stuff when I get it done. Cheers Eric!

That is one enchanting, perplexing gif @ericvancewalton. I feel like I've been put under a trance and I am currently being transported through an intergalactic tunnel into the future. The bright future of... the blockchain

A really enthralling and captivating poem Eric. I can really feel the anxiety and apprehension of a hardfork but also mixed with a tinge of excitement. Beautifully written! :)

Thank you so much, man! It's so funny you should refer to the fractal art as an intergalactic tunnel! We must have been on the same wavelength (you'll have to wait until you see the series to know exactly what I mean.) : ) We really appreciate the support!

I love fractals. Fractal zooms like the Mandlebrot set and the video electric sheep are awesome. Thanks for the poetry!

I like them too! They take you to another place. Thanks for the kind words!

This is awesome @ericvancewalton - I love crypto-poetry! Thanks for sharing. Looking forward to more from you :)

Thanks, @mikev! I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Very good poem :)

I appreciate it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58051.31
ETH 3136.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44