Inside and Out

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Eric Montoya 1968 - American Surrealist painter - Tutt'Art@ (20).jpg
Painting by Eric Montoya


in the eye of the beholder is where the beauty lies
what one perceives with more than just their eyes
what rests underneath the routine disguise
what is formality's betrayal, where normality dies

once the mask is removed and the truth is revealed
exposing what is purposely, maybe hurtfully concealed
the inside of a thing, the core, where it's real
is where I focus, where my sight finds beauty's appeal

for the inner beauty, if it truly exists
is what perseveres and quietly resists
refrains from the strife and silently persists

you may catch a glimpse when the guard is down
see the coy smile behind a well groomed frown
or flowers bloom when the costume drops to the ground

beyond the pain, behind the forced smiles
beneath the shroud, bound by exile

That's where I found her, as I peered ever so deep
into the windows that have no secrets to keep

Where I found you, a beautiful masterpiece of art

Inside and out, a passionate enrapture of the heart

Sort:  

I have always loved that painting and such great writing to go with it

Thanks Jay! He has many, many good ones, think this one is my favorite.

Yes he does he has such a cool style

Unique to say the least. I will probably use a few more, I grabbed six or seven yesterday to use in things like this :)

Cool look forward to seeing them

Your words never cease to amaze me! No words... none that could possibly compare anyway...

Knowing you enjoy the words are enough my dear. Thank you.

Such wonderful words and sentiments.

Georgous. Wonderful poetry. Def an audience for this :)

Beautiful painting and I love the poem 😊
So true about the beauty in the core, if you just have the currage to let your gard down amazing things can happen. To show who you are openly and be genuine in all situations can be hard as you feel naked.
But beauty comes from the heart, inside.
Thank you for sharing this. Love it

I really did like it 😊 I will go and check it out.
Again thank you for including me

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @enginewitty. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @enginewitty to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

Congratulations @enginewitty! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Keep'em coming bro!!!

muy bueno amigo, me gustan sus poemas! siga publicando saludos

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67962.69
ETH 3852.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66