Psalms to the Moon - "start" to "bravery" (Original Poetry)

in #poetry8 years ago


"dichotomy"

I've been pretty open with sharing the poetry from my book Psalms to the Moon ever since I released it. Like the back cover says, it's a book of VERY short poetry. Many of the poems read almost like tweets - if tweets were more often about unfulfilled love and romance.

In continuing the habit of sharing the poems, I'm going to try to post a few poems each day from Psalms to the Moon here on Steemit. Many of them work better in the context of the book, so if you enjoy them, consider buying either the paperback or Kindle edition.

The past few posts have been essentially the introduction of the book - this post marks the "start" of the book with the aptly named "start", and continues until "bravery", one of the longer poems in the book.


start

are you blushing?

cost

I have spent millions of words
on you, for you, with you

preparation

expect injury
like it were rain

dichotomy

both;
I hate that I love you

bravery

I am sorry,
I got the wrong idea about you.
Forgive me for being confused
that so much of what you've declared
turned out to be irrelevant,
thanks to circumstance.

I'm sorry, I didn't know you saying,
"People are the greatest fun,"
was meant to tell me,
"People are threatening, hard,
and I would rather be alone."

Maybe because you telling me,
"I work to speak genuinely,"
meant "I don't know,
don't trust me yet."

But I think that it is all the real you,
and if only you could step back,
see the constellations of your words.

You would be just as happy
to bring each of those stars to shine.


If you're interested in the other posts, in order they are:

disclaimer 1
"ego" to "denial"
language

header image is original content

Sort:  

Congratulations @emsenn! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46