Psalms to the Moon: Selected Poems Part 2 (Original Poetry)

in #poetry8 years ago

a graphic depicting a tongue with a zipper embedded
Sometimes poems make it clear how inadequate words are

I've been pretty open with sharing the poetry from my book Psalms to the Moon ever since I released it. Like the back cover says, it's a book of VERY short poetry. Many of the poems read almost like tweets - if tweets were more often about unfulfilled love and romance.

In continuing the habit of sharing the poems, I'm going to try to post one or more poems a day from Psalms to the Moon here on Steemit. Many of them work better in the context of the book, so if you enjoy them, consider buying either the paperback or Kindle edition. Yesterday I shared the first poem, which was a "disclaimer" about the poems to follow. These next few should also be viewed as prefaces to the rest of them. Tomorrow will be the start of the "real" poems.

ego

I'm scared
these words
will make you hate me
but I'm going to share them anyway
(for me)

disclaimer 2

read these words
thinking of yourself
not of me
(for me)

motif

be deadly
I am air

note to self

trust your work

denial

how many words I write
doesn't change
how much of a writer I am.

Header image original art by me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46