How Can I Keep You?

in #poetry7 years ago

PhotoGrid_1504601767644.jpg


A great many things I can do,
I can write and sing and cook too.
Be a friend, a mother, a boss- these are but a few
Of the many roles in life I knew.
To excel in all is what I strive to do
So it puzzles me to fail in one thing, it's true.

A great many dish I've cooked,
Fowl, fish, meat and baked goods too.
Be it to break the fast,
Or dine to make the night last,
Cooking for dear ones I seem to have a knack.
One recipe eludes me though, no matter how many times i try
My recipe for love always turns out dry.

PhotoGrid_1504601807211.jpg

A great many songs I've sang,
Songs of love, of life, of mankind.
Any genre I sing, any tune that ring
Any melody is such a joy to sing!
It troubles me so to know one thing-
The rhythm and beat of love, I can't seem to wing!

A great many things I write,
Poetry or prose composed to make last.
Thoughts on ink, the words come easy.
Anyone who cares to read can see,
The flow of emotion behind every writing.
And so it's quite frustrating that it evades me
How to write My Book of Love fluidly.

A great many things I can do,
But I seem to fail at keeping you.

PhotoGrid_1504602218164.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations. This post features in my latest Curation Article. @MrSquiggle - supporting the #TeamAustralia community and promoting creative content. Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @mrsquiggle to continue to support the #TeamAustralia community.

Very nice poem. I can't escape reading a single line of it.
This all in you ? . You are amazing .
thanks for sharing

Excellent poem! If failing at keeping someone is something you experience often, perhaps it's best to take a step back and reflect on if it is worth all the energy and effort. Accepting that some things are just not meant to be is key. Well done, and thank you for sharing!

PS: If you are interested and have some spare time, I have some poetry on my blog too. :)

Thank you for dropping by @lukakorba! Yeah, also, find the one who'd want to be 'kept' and who'd stay. ^_^

You're welcome, it was a nice read! :) Yup, finding that someone is such a blissful feeling! :)

Aww. Full of hugot. Nice poem and nice doodles as well! Haha. I tried to find you and follow you here after last night's Pinoy henyo. hahaha 😂

Hugotism101 madam @enjieneer! Ahaha thanks for finding me. Join in the next games also!

very interesting read.

I'm glad you got to read it :)

and this is on the blockchain... so much reserve space on the blockchain.

Lol i just said the same thing on inquiringtimes' comment.

It is, at the very least, an interesting addition to the chain, don't you think?

Lets just accept the fact that not everything we wanted will be ours. What's important is, we did what we could. With that, learning follows which lead us to a more sweet results of what we aimed and hope for.

Very well-said @juvyjabian. Everything happens for a reason, and in Papa God's right time I know all will be perfect.

....pero mahirap parin accept. Hahaha kidding.

Hi Miel! :) lovely poem. I hope those words were just cuz u felt like writing them, but it they are personal.. then how foolish is the person who inspired u to write it..

Aww, so sweet of you to say so @chinito. All good now :)

Yan! MOR approves!

Hahaha @st3llar! Aba aba may seal of approval, I'm super proud i can cry!

Nice all around. :D
Lovely poem and art works. :)

Thank you @zararina! Courtesy of viber doodle parin hehe

life never makes it easy for us does it

Yeah. Makes the journey interesting I guess :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56159.14
ETH 2370.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30