"Burning" (Self Esteem and Media Objectification)

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)





womens-day.jpg



filigree.png

Burning

You never asked her what she wanted
She never had the chance to tell you
Now you expect her to shine
When you just dimmed her light

Despite that she tried
Like clay she was molded
'Til she became unrecognizable
to others, and to herself

But the fire in her never died
Her true self hidden deep inside
A fire so bright, feared by night
A guide to those who lost sight

You never asked her what she wanted
But she long stopped waiting for it
Close your eyes, or be blinded
As she blaze with burning light


2e38398b1217d89a87e4f1d59f31468c--fire-element-fire-art.jpg



filigree.png


Image source:
1, 2, 3

Sort:  

I love the image and words! Welcome to Steemit, I noticed you are new :) Following you and looking forward to more of your posts!

Thank you so much @mininthecity for your kind words and warm welcome! It encouraged me to post more and work harder on my content. 😊 I checked out your blog too and you post really cool content. Started following you too! Thank you once again 😃

Awesome! There are a lot of amazing Steemians to connect with. I want to post more writing, stories, and high quality blogs when I make time for it. Most days, I share a couple short photo contest posts. It's a quick way to stay involved :)

Yeah I'm planning to join some photo contests myself, seems fun to take a pause and notice some things you wouldn't have paid attention to before. ^^

Hello, please follow the rules of the group Steemit for Resteem ↕ and you will be resteemed by the most active members in the group.

You have to resteem a post from the group before you post yours there.

Here is : HOW TO RESTEEM ON STEEMIT ?

Welcome and enjoy to the group and steemit. As from what I see and read so far you will do great. Keep up the great work. Again looking foward to more of your work. Ciao
@johnskotts

Thanks a lot @johnskotts! And thanks also for resteeming my post. Started following you too as I can see you have really interesting stories to tell, like you post about your trip to Canada. See you around here on Steemit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57850.91
ETH 2358.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43