Oppression | a little something I penned, while going through a rough period in my life

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Suffering from depression, I often take comfort in writing. This piece manifested during one of the toughest moments in my life, when all hope seemed lost.

Oppression

We live our lives under constant oppression;
Never being able to break the constraints we put ourselves in;
Unjust and cruel, but secure nonetheless;
Nothing to gain, nothing to lose.

We live under the omnipresent tyranny of our conscience;
Trying to fit the norms set by society and government;
Untrue to ourselves we shroud our deepest thoughts;
The path in front of us is one paved by influence.

We are content, but are we happy?
Have we really made a difference?

I PROCLAIM, we not live our lives in this regimen we have come to accept;
Today is a new day, a new beginning;
We shall strive to break through these shackles and accept who we are;
Embrace humanity as our responsibility, NOT someone elses, OURS.

Only then can we truly achieve greatness;
Only then can we change the world;
Only then can we transcend happiness and reach enlightenment;
Be a candle in this world of darkness.

Doctor.fit

Even if I help only 1 person going through a tough time in their lives, I'll be content

P.s. I would like to thank @sammosk for giving me the ability to put this chapter of my life away. Much love brother ❤️

Sort:  

No mention of inspirational source. :O

such dissapoint I am feeling. haha. Lets change the world together, you work on the body I'll work on the mind.

Only when the two become one, will we be truly at peace.

May we all become the ONE. And not the zero.

srsly though great message.

Thanks so much mate. Sincerely, thank you.

Approval of edit. <3

Proud of you for sharing.

Fitness comes from many sources Doctor (as I'm sure you are aware).

Good to see the physician heal thyself!

Steem on!

Haha, due diligence has been given.

Damn man, you have skills. Favorite line "Be a candle in this world of darkness." I try my best to be this man. Even in times of stress I try hard to still be the light for others. A person crossed my path awhile back and changed my whole life just buy a few words about spreading light and not darkness. I won't say I'm perfect but I think I do a good job. Work in progress :)

Perfection is an ideal, not a achievable reality. To trive for it is all we can really hope for. You're doing a brilliant job buddy ❤️

Well said mate.

Thanks a ton dude!

I just recently was helped through a 2 year depression myself after the sudden death of a loved one. Thank God for an awesome friend who helped me in the same way. And even though he is in another country taking care of business, he is still helping me. He is now my spiritual teacher, best friend and my truest love of all times. Having someone like him in my life that will always be there thru thick and thin is such a blessing.

Such a noble thought u have forward bro... I am happy to see people coming out with their stories and enlightening the society around.. good job :)

Thanks buddy, I appreciate it :).

Sun Tzu - 544 BC (traditional)
“If you are depressed you are living in the past.
If you are anxious you are living in the future.
If you are at peace you are living in the present.”

A beautiful quote. The Art of War is one of my favorite books of all time. Thanks for the reply, it brought a smile to my face :)

When we compare the present to the past. When we avoid foods that are good for the brain chemistry. When we don't get exercise. When we surround ourselves with social media rather than real friends who love us. It becomes a one way ticket to depression.

Thank you for the upvote and reply screenwriterml. You've hit the nail on the head. Being able to cope is the reason I got into fitness and healthy living in the first place. It is my sanctuary. I thank you for shedding light on it :)

Some thing I as well have finally started to take on.. It is no easy task and harder when feeling completely alone, even when there are "friends/family" most don't understand or pay attention.. it's a sad(yet happy) day when it takes lines of text from somebody you don't know to make you realize you're not alone in the dark times.

Yes it is indeed tough, and once it looks like it's behind you, it'll find a way to start creeping back up. Find strength in knowing that you've beaten it once, and you can do it again. I'm glad, sincerely.

Beautifully expressed. I'm glad that's behind you. Your future is bright and beautiful. :)

Thank you so much!

A very deep poem.. :) You still sound courageous and ever-striving to go upwards, even during one of the toughest moments in your life. That's very refreshing as opposed to a defeated mindset that many who go through severe trials or depression project instead..

Defeat is a state of mind; no one is ever defeated until defeat has been accepted as a reality.
-Bruce Lee
It is a sad truth.
I thank you very much for the comment and upvote, it means a lot!

Happiness comes within

It does indeed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 61014.18
ETH 3412.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52