53 of 100

in #poetry7 years ago

From (1 of 100):

I'm going to try to challenge myself, and this is the very first one. I am going to try to write 100 Poems in 30 days (essentially, I'm trying to pay for a Birthday Gift for my wife and this is how I want to pay for it). Anyway 100 Poems in 30 Days... should be something to see. I just hope I can come through with good poetry that people enjoy.

Here you can see 52 of 100.

Now to the 53rd in this series... let's make some money so I can buy her an even better gift!!



Source


I Tried

I tried to deny these feelings growing,
growing winsome,
growing truer by the day...
alas to dream of many splendid dreams,
to live a life of play,
to go through loves like water
in a goblet made of clay;
but the truth in hearts of fire,
strife and unkind words may prey...
Jaws of silver shining dew
close in on me this very day.
I tired to quell these lustful seethings,
seething passion,
seething triumphant passions of the soul...
alas but once my eyes be closed,
again my heart's been stole;
to choke upon the sulfrous dust
my yearnings shall cajole...
you've fallen in predicaments before
I won't console,
but you, my sweet, have filled my heart,
that gaping, blackened hole.
I tried to conquer in my heart my dreams,
dreams so vicious,
dreams of mighty love to love...
alas to sleep a sleep of many fools
beneath the skies of mauve,
fly on wings of eagles,
and the peacefulness of doves;
A Titan's grip, yet gentleness on high,
so far above...
to try and try, and never gain
an inch without a shove.
I tried to ignore it as these emotions swelled,
swelled dizzily within me,
swelled beyond my heart's own size...
But then I turn my longing gaze
to stare into your eyes,
And none but me shall tremble so
to write it in the skies;
Take heed, my lucky Angel lost,
this love a grand surprise...
Control, my heart, as we depart,
one kiss among the sighs.
I tried and tried without success...
success builds character,
success wins wars over living and dead...
Oh chosen few who stayed behind,
my love, my life, has bled,
for in the treasured Angel-heart
no lies shall now be said...
Create now close to my own heart
a love that we shant dread;
But better you to know it now
before you're in my bed...
I've tried,
I've tried,
and failed in my trying;
and love haunts me in your guise,
flying free of everything below the very skies.

Sort:  

I really enjoyed this post as I was going through today's stuff. Keep up the great posting, I'll go ahead and Follow & Upvote!

Thanks so much! I hope I can keep it up and make it to my 100 before the time runs out.

Goblets made of me. The best goblets. <3

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the second half of Oct 20. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $77.86 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Oct 20 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

@reported has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

        To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65265.67
ETH 3326.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63