wash the bones [original poetry // photography]

in #poetry7 years ago


the water lays just below the limp, curling moss; I
cannot see it for the drops and yet, with each step
it spurts between my toes— the cold is shocking.
why I peeled off my shoes, left them somewhere–
where— I cannot even fathom, because it was not
to feel. there is no feeling left. not in my toes or in
my heart here; I am struck dumb by the way each
time I press my weight and my soul into the earth
it responds back with bitter, chill waves. bruising
skin into submission, I wonder if they will expose
my bones– or if they wash the bones of the world.
 
as I approach the precipice, I create my own crests
which mirror the thundering swells rising, fiercely
crashing out beyond the cliff edge, I pause, my foot
raised— quivering and dripping above the torn and
rent remains. what were you? a soaring, night-dark
predator... a small onyx figure placed, steadfast, to
watch the storm wrack the beaches with pounding
fists? reduced, diminutive, asunder; there is naught
left to mark your presence here as living. no blood,
no flesh, the barest hint of sinew. or were you ever?
 
the wind ruffles the last lines of your existence and
I feel it begin to tug at mine. if I were to stand here
long enough, in the widening lakes of my pressure
on this plain, I think I would be unraveled. strands
of auburn, tangled in the grass and forgotten, until
the next solitary wanderer looks down to see what
is left. quiet against the wind, considering bits and
pieces of colour marking where every being stops
and the grasses and the storm meet, until they too
fray and collapse here. a new layer in this mass of
lost, lapsed consciousness, we will watch the tide.

 

Composed around a photo taken at the absolute ends of the earth: walking up the slopes of the valley at the end of Skálavíkurvegur. To follow this section of my trip, you can read about the haunting presence of foam and bones in my Icelandic travel log:

 

I wander the length of the coastline and up the bluffs as far as I can go. The still feathered wings of a raven are hidden in the sparkling grass behind what's left of a cabin. The kelp torn up at the roots thrown to the base of the cliffs is decaying into unnervingly pink ropes of viscera and I have to look twice at the first pile I see to figure it out. What I think may have been a seal tumbles in the bubbles cleaned pristinely pearl, almost translucent, and missing the skull. Foam and bones out here. The verdant pictures I've seen online from the summer don't feel nearly as authentic as bones and foam.

These photos and words are my own work, inspired by travels all over this pretty blue marble of ours. I hope you like them. 🌶️

 
crimsonclad.png

Hi, I'm Crimmi. I help run a top 30 Steemit witness, along with my project partner @followbtcnews. Feel free to reach out to us on Steemit Chat or Discord at any time! If we haven't earned your vote yet, please take some time to look at our tools and our work — place a vote for followbtcnews if you feel we're doing a good job.

Sort:  

Wash the mind.

This is really well-done.

And dark. And moody.

strands of auburn, tangled in the grass and forgotten is a great visual image. Just another remnant of something that lived, maybe.

maybe.

Hard to tell out there; you go sense blind so quickly. Cold skin, wind blocking your ears, rain stinging your eyes. I know Iceland in the summer is twenty four hours of sun, and a never ending landscape of green, green, green. I'm very glad I went on the edge of winter, and the whole personality of the country was dark and moody.

if I were to stand here
long enough, in the widening lakes of my pressure
on this plain, I think I would be unraveled.

Love it!
So many, many great lines here!
Bones - we walk over them every day, unaware, how many layers beneath our feet they remain.
You convey a thoughtfulness that could sound mournful or depressing, if I were to attempt this. Your closing lines are splendid:
bits and
pieces of colour marking where every being stops
and the grasses and the storm meet, until they too
fray and collapse here. a new layer in this mass of
lost, lapsed consciousness, we will watch the tide.

wow!

Not only is this a beautiful poem but I am in awe of your formatting, and that sideways image at then end punctuates the last line perfectly ❤️

Loading...

Oh wow. I adore your words! Such a lovely written voice

wow - i need another cup of coffee! this just blew away

Great poem. I could really feel the earth beneath my feet as you described it while reading. The photos are gloomy yet beautiful.

Lovely dark, vivid imagery.

"the wind ruffles the last lines of your existence and
I feel it begin to tug at mine."

I've always loved the "cleansing" nature of wind, how it can blur thoughts, and grasp deep into your soul if left. An effect most assuredly amplified by the amazing location of Skálavíkurvegur, where you're not sure if its the ends of the earth, or simply the end of your world.
A great foreboding, primeval atmosphere.

Not jealous at all of your fantastic trip to Iceland. <.< >.>

Thank you for your words

thank you so much! If you like wind, Iceland will be your jam! I was told upon arrival it is the third windiest place on earth, with the first two being uninhabited. The wind became my steadfast companion on this trip. I really only noticed when it was gone.

Wind is my absolute favorite weather other than, of course, an earth-shaking heaven-rending Thunder-Storm.
It appears I will have to visit Iceland one day, I wholeheartedly agree with your decision of going on the brink of winter.

Super post again... dont stop to be a genius... im happy i took the time to stalk your account again ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56002.99
ETH 2458.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28