Runaway Rhymes - 🏄"The Mermaid and the Waterman"🌊steemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry8 years ago (edited)

Surf poetry in motion; riding the waves with a favorite mermaid...

This is my entry into the "Runaway Rhymes Competition #2: Brave the Wave" poetry competition.

The Gorgeous Young Mermaid from Bremen...

The Gorgeous Young Mermaid from Bremen...
Photo courtesy of Jeremy Bishop and http://unsplash.com



"The Mermaid and the Waterman"


A gorgeous young mermaid from Bremen
fell in love with a wave-riding seaman.
"Let's surf tandem!" he said.
She, once raised overhead,
unimpressed, quipped: “So, now you're a he-man?"
 
He knew that his lady was flighty,
disposed to such careless remarks;
So, thinking to mend her,
a lim'rick he’d send her,
to lighten her petulant heart.
 
“Sweet mermaid, I’ll speak you my mind.
Your disparaging words are a blight!
Could you but truly ken
the harm that they’ve been,
You’d regale me with words more polite.
 
She, taking his lecture to heart,
says “I wist not the hurt that I’ve wrought.
Forgive me, I pray!
Let us start each new day
Seeking love in each deed, word, and thought.”


Wave1

"A Darkling Winter Day" - Photo courtesy of Tim Marshall and http://unsplash.com


Thanks for your time and attention.

I'm here on Steemit because of you, my readers. I wouldn't be here if it weren't for you!

This post is intended to count towards @dragosroua's Challenge30.


I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about all of them.
Did you enjoy this post?

⬇️Please check out @creatr's world - CLICK each of the images below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr

Follow me, I'm @creatr

Sort:  

Uh, yeah...I'm losing my taste for contests...as Hemingway says, you can't write a story to pay a bill. But that's just me, subject to the whims of emotion and inspiration..."There once was a man from Dundas.." Finish that line. LOL!!

I've been away from writing poetry for so long that, several times now on Steemit, I've found the very existence of a contest stimulating enough... However, an exciting muse is always good to find, and she visits me once in a while, for which I am grateful. ;)

I must confess - contests mean competition and that always stresses me. I'm either all in or I want the other person to win, and then that's no fun, so I guess that's my apologia pro vita mea.

I really like the extended limerick format!

And following back :-)

And, Thank you again! I hope you'll find things that I write of interest to you. I've tried to make that easy for you - if you click on the GIF below, you'll discover my Topical Table of Contents. I look forward to interacting with you on anything you may find intriguing. 😄😇😄

@creatr

Greetings, @sazbird!

Thank you so much for reading and commenting! :) I appreciate your encouragement. Good luck in the contest!

Um, are you sure you're not just toying with me? ;)

Following you now... 😄😇😄

@creatr

Lol @creatr. Thank you. Not toying at all :-) Good luck to you in the contest too

Thank you! :)

Fabulous poetic tale. Resteemed and thank you for entering.

Hi, @hopehuggs!

Thanks so much for your very encouraging comments! Thank you for a stimulating contest as well! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 68152.98
ETH 3536.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86