Things...

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)


Art by Christian Schloe

Christian Schloe - Austrian Surrealist Digital painter - Tutt'Art@ (100).jpg


I don’t know how to
explain things.
I read things, I hear things,
I see things..
but I don’t know how to
explain things.


In class,
when the professor handed out
a piece of poem to everyone
and asked, “what’d you think?”
I thought to myself, "it’s self-explanatory,
about mankind and artificial glory."


but I don’t know how to
explain things.
I read things, I hear things,
I see things..
but I don’t know how to
explain things.


I feel things..
and sometimes—
I write things...


"Things..."

by
@CreativeChaos
~
Image source

Sort:  

All we know
is mute.
Only the rosy mouth of mystery
speaks
and keeps us alive.
–Liliana Ursu

Which is to say, I hear you... and recognize how words can be futile. But, that said, part of becoming an artist (we are always in a state of becoming) or even a mystic (a far more ambitious endeavor) is developing our critical faculty. I think of it as splitting ourselves into two or maybe three: writer, reader, and critic. Boring, perhaps, but this is how our work improves (technically, too) and how we can learn to assess, coolly, the work of others.

@yahialababidi totally agree. The most important part of being an artist is to express yourself while providing value to the others.

Generally speaking, I'm a self-taught "poet" and, although, I've read a quite a bit on poetry rules and structures when I write, I don't follow any specific rules. However, when I revise my writings, I try to apply the little knowledge I know so that my writings would make more sense to the readers, as I strive to learn more and improve my writing skills.

Thanks, Yahia, for your invaluable comment!

Wishing you best of luck on your Journey.

Generally, I think of myself as self-taught, too :) One way to hone our craft is to read, and widely, from the classics to modern poetry.

Cheers ✌🏼

@creativechaos, I gave you a vote!
If you follow me, I will also follow you in return!
Enjoy some !popcorn courtesy of @nextgencrypto!

Congratulations @creativechaos! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
You got a First Reply

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @creativechaos! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67167.98
ETH 3674.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76