You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Things...

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

All we know
is mute.
Only the rosy mouth of mystery
speaks
and keeps us alive.
–Liliana Ursu

Which is to say, I hear you... and recognize how words can be futile. But, that said, part of becoming an artist (we are always in a state of becoming) or even a mystic (a far more ambitious endeavor) is developing our critical faculty. I think of it as splitting ourselves into two or maybe three: writer, reader, and critic. Boring, perhaps, but this is how our work improves (technically, too) and how we can learn to assess, coolly, the work of others.

Sort:  

@yahialababidi totally agree. The most important part of being an artist is to express yourself while providing value to the others.

Generally speaking, I'm a self-taught "poet" and, although, I've read a quite a bit on poetry rules and structures when I write, I don't follow any specific rules. However, when I revise my writings, I try to apply the little knowledge I know so that my writings would make more sense to the readers, as I strive to learn more and improve my writing skills.

Thanks, Yahia, for your invaluable comment!

Wishing you best of luck on your Journey.

Generally, I think of myself as self-taught, too :) One way to hone our craft is to read, and widely, from the classics to modern poetry.

Cheers ✌🏼

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64136.76
ETH 3522.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57