Getting There

in #poetry4 years ago (edited)

winters-1919143__480.webp


I lie here everyday thinking
Of you and of me
Of your perfect face and your laughter
What brought us together?
Was it your bright smile?
They way it spreads across your face
So beautiful it shames the sun
Or your warm arms
Holding me close to your heart
Never tired of my ramblings

You’re my moon
In my weak moments you light up my day
You shine through the darkness
Embracing me with your rays
Day after day you stand tall
Unfazed by my demons
Unruffled by my bicker
You watch and protect
Constantly telling me the truth
Even when I hate it

You’re my rainbow
With your gracious colours
You add beauty to my life
You remind me life is about the little things
About the people we love
And things that matter
About the places that make us happy
You bring out my real self
Teaching me to accept all of it
Making me love my imperfections

I’m carefree when I’m with you
It’s like being a child once again
Chasing after colourful butterflies
Seeing only the flapping wings
My laughter is real
With you by my side
I’m whole knowing I have you
You thought me to love
And I can’t get enough of it
I’m here to cherish and to hold


Four more days to go. I cried again last night. The memories of the last days came. They almost overpowered me. I've been fighting so hard to not remember her that way. I want to remember the smiles and the happy moments more. This time I didn't hold it back or shove it aside. One of the things I've learned in this life is that you need to feel first before you can move on. You need to make peace with everything. So, here I am, trying and failing and trying again.

Love got me here. These past weeks were easier for me because of it. Isn't it weird that we find love in the darkest of places, times and moments. I sometimes wonder how much I would have coped and where I would have been if it didn't happen. I didn't do a lot of things right but I'm happy things are the way they are. Maybe everything is finally falling into place after such a long time.

image source

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

🤗❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85