The Way We Used To

in #poetry6 years ago

3769126135_2d4903bf25_z.jpg

Are we wasting our time away,
all this time spent awake
when we could be sleeping.

Every day is the same day but
played in reverse, monochrome
framed grey caught between
blacktop ball game stained
shoes playing hooky with the
laces pulling tight a child’s
smile six feet from the hills
we rolled down – it’s so dizzy
                at the top.

Strolling with collars popped
        – big boy style –
our hair pulled back into
a surprised laugh and a chance
look aft to try and catch a guilty
glance of conscious denial punctuated
        by a ruler slap,
but also a giggle with a snap
of heads looking down pouring over
spilt milk dribbling as a brook
from out your nose like the
carefully placed barefoot on
slippery rocks, a game of red rover
to get to the other side and knock
over all but the tricky pins sittin'
in the corners while y’all
run around havin' all the fun
and games we used to play on
stormy days like today.

Please, tell me something
so I can fall asleep at night.
A prayer lost on the tip of my
fingers pleading for a bedtime
story with an ending enveloping
me with tucked in blankets and
grownup dreams laced sweet with
warm milk and kisses and a word and
                an end.

        Tell me something
so that I may rest in peace.


Peace in Rest.
Please, tell me something.
There are no words on my tongue.
Tell me something, please.
Rest in Peace.

IOW_WM_BLACK.png

@isleofwrite logo design by @PegasusPhysics

photo is '412-DA-13180' taken by Erik Calonius and is public commons

Sort:  

"all this time spent awake
when we could be sleeping"

Love how counter-intuitive that is. Napping or sleeping in, pastime of the lazy, is the new necessity in a culture where almost everyone is sleep deprived. The things we cram into each day - when we could be, and SHOULD be, sleeping!
These simple words move me:
Please, tell me something
so I can fall asleep at night.
A prayer lost on the tip of my
fingers pleading for a bedtime
story with an ending

Beautiful!
*Off to bed now

I feel this the most, Carol, the consumer culture where we can only truly be if we are experiencing, all the time, infinite in an instant - I've lost a lot of sleep over it.

Thank you ever so much, Carol, your words always mean much and more to me.

I really enjoyed this. You have striking images.

"Strolling with collars popped
– big boy style –
our hair pulled back into
a surprised laugh..."

That was the moment my brain said "Damn. He's good."

I'm in a state of overhauling all my time spent. Trying to make every hour of every day more productive. When I lay down at night, I often can't sleep. When I get up I often feel I don't have the energy or desire and want to do nothing. This poem was a nice escape. Thanks for writing.

I'm in the constant struggle between efficiency, and my own tendency to dwell on what should be done or the paralyzation that comes from convincing myself perfection is attainable. I'm in a semi-constant state of reprogramming, hoping to keep one foot moving forward and an eye on the present at least as much as on the future.

not sure if that is what you are expressing, but know that you are never alone - thank you so much for the read, @Cosimo, it means so much.

That's pretty close.

I came across something that said that one of the differences between a professional artist and an amateur, is that amateurs can be known to rant about how they love what they do. Professionals are careful not to because they are aware of how love for your own work can paralyze you.

This post has caught the eye of @MuxxyBot and has been nominated by the curation team. If chosen it will feature in a curation post by @MuxxyBot. An image from your post may be featured.
Please reply to this comment if you accept or decline.

sounds delightful, Sun, honored.

I loved your poem! Very gutteral and surreal.

I really loved this piece, @carmalain7. It took me on a trip toward nostalgia. I like the way you flipped through the images like a montage. Great write.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62759.93
ETH 3112.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87