You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Way We Used To

in #poetry7 years ago

"all this time spent awake
when we could be sleeping"

Love how counter-intuitive that is. Napping or sleeping in, pastime of the lazy, is the new necessity in a culture where almost everyone is sleep deprived. The things we cram into each day - when we could be, and SHOULD be, sleeping!
These simple words move me:
Please, tell me something
so I can fall asleep at night.
A prayer lost on the tip of my
fingers pleading for a bedtime
story with an ending

Beautiful!
*Off to bed now

Sort:  

I feel this the most, Carol, the consumer culture where we can only truly be if we are experiencing, all the time, infinite in an instant - I've lost a lot of sleep over it.

Thank you ever so much, Carol, your words always mean much and more to me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56512.08
ETH 2344.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33