Chemical DependancysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

This is a rhyme I wrote to my son, Charlie Boy when he was 25 years old and having trouble with drugs. He died of an overdose when he was 34 years old. He was a nice kid, but he just could not get off the drugs. I sent him many rhymes over the years to try to help. Some helped for awhile, but none had that lasting affect. He filled a large church when he died and there were many great stories of the nice things he did for other people. This was an early rhyme where I’m writing in Charlie Boy’s words.

Chemical Dependency!
I’m not like the rest – I can quit any time
I don’t need to use – I’ll just stop on a dime
Now these other folks – It’s so plain to see
They’ve got a real problem – But they’re not like me

I’ve heard what you’ve said – I believe every word
When I go out with my friends – I won’t drink, rest assured
Hey! You know it ain’t easy – But I know who I am
I’ll go to my meetings – Now that ain’t no scam

I’ll live with my mother – Where I’ve been all my life
Of course I’ll move out – When I marry and get a wife
Right now I’m getting a dog – A puppy if you will
He’ll keep my mind off of drinking – I’ve got too much time to kill

A job! I don’t think so – The pays way too low
Look at me, will you – Do I look that slow
I got straight “A”s in grade school – Although high school is a fog
I don’t think I liked it – I need a memory jog

Hey listen here buddy – I’m in charge of my life
I come and go as I want to – And don’t worry about strife
Rent, I ain’t paying – Or I might have to drink
Get me a nice paying job – Where I won’t have to think

You know I’m no dummy – I’m really doing okay
What are you all pissed off about – Are you having a bad day
Don’t blame me for your hard luck – I’m just trying to get by
My parents got divorced – If I’m screwed up, that’s why

Now that we’re on the subject – Ya, sometimes I need a drink
It helps to calm my nerves – So I really can think
Some day you’ll be surprised – When I’m rich and own my own car
You’ll see I didn’t need treatment – And I’m successful like a rising star!!

Sort:  

Congratulations @budtherhymer! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @budtherhymer! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @budtherhymer! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest Meet The Stemians Contest - The mysterious rule revealed
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64834.92
ETH 2540.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67