Not Broken, Just Bent

in #poetry4 years ago (edited)

Heart in the trunk.jpg

Not broken, just bent, this time I say,
when you charged me as broken as we sit face to face.
You persisted to insist I was broken by
what had passed between the fall and the spring
of two years past, when I did not know if I could last
in this life created that now crumbled down.
Instead I persisted, and made a vow
to build new life where my seedlings and I
could grow with the values and trust I defined
on my own despite your insistence that I
am doing it wrong and should listen to
you and to them and society at large.
I finally understand that I am in charge
of my choices and actions and response to the pain
that took me to my knees, but I stood up again
and I mended the bend in the branches of our family tree.
Even though I know you still don’t respect me,
or my choices and actions and response to the pain,
I tell you now that I would do it again
because of the growth that I gained when I opened my soul
to the possible and impossible and gave up control
of the outcome, for better or worse,
and I learned how to live in my own universe,
where I continue to grow and continue to mend
the bend in the branch with time well-spent
in the present and in love and in grace.
I say not broken, just bent, as we sit face to face.


Related Posts:

Bia.Birch Origins


I am grateful to find a place with rich soil to grow a community. May we take root, and flourish together.

@Bia.Birch 🌱

All artwork, photographs, and content are original and created by @bia.birch unless otherwise credited

Sort:  

I'm proud of my crooked bent-ness. It makes me far more empathetic. And I think my husband's bentness too helped us find more curves and corners to snuggle into softly and help each other through the darkest times, and the bentness softened somehow, and just was, rather than a thing to fight or force back into some kind of illusionary shape of what was 'before'. xx

A beautiful reflection. xx

...rather than a thing to fight or force back into some kind of illusionary shape of what was 'before.'
The way you accept each other's bentness as simply part of one another is a gift. We are all bent, but so often we are expected to fix ourselves, or worse, try to fix another person. What a beautifully peaceful way you have found to live together. I admire this 🌱

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @sunravelme.


@helpie is a Community Witness.

Congratulations @bia.birch! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 250

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95