Bia.Birch Origins

in #naturalmedicine5 years ago

Notebook by the window white.jpg

When I was a little girl, I lived in a magical place. My parents’ house was surrounded by deep woods with a creek running through it, cornfields, and 3 neighbors. I spent all day outside playing in those woods, riding bikes and making up games with the other kids. But my favorite place of all was the lone birch tree planted in the middle of my mom’s flower bed in the middle of the backyard. I have heard people say that their cat or dog or fish was their best friend growing up. If I am honest, my birch tree was mine.

As a younger woman in a college writing class, I remembered the happy days spent with my friend and was inspired to write this poem.

The Birch Tree

High above the ground
I wandered off between the words of my favorite book
You stood strong and single in a field of green

Captivating my mind with the wonder of your bark
I peeled as paper and flatware
You were a lightning rod of creativity

Leaves shimmered silver with summer storms
I watched with you
You reflected splendor and sun

Offering your seeds to the stew of my imagination
I nourished my fantasies
You were the giver

Birch Books.jpg

The birch tree has special significance in Russian mythology. Maybe my second generation Russian grandmother planted my birch tree in the backyard as my grandfather helped my dad build the house. Maybe the tree was a holdout from the days when the land was a budding forest. I never asked how my tree ended up in the yard. But I believe her and I were meant to be. Kindred spirits vibrating on the same frequency. And I am certain, more now than ever, that the days spent in her branches shaped my purpose.

The Russian word for birch tree is “bereza.” This word has its origins in the verb “berech,” or “to take care of.” The birch offers herself in myriad ways. From herbal tonics to psychic energy protection, the birch is revered across time and culture. She is a symbol of rebirth, love and light. Compassion and change vibrate in her bark. In, The Wisdom of Trees, Jane Gifford says, “The Birch tree symbolizes a fresh start and can bring courage and determination to those of us who are treading the path of spiritual growth and development for the first time.”

Lady of the Woods Light .jpg

Birch is the pioneer tree. Settling uninhabited and abused land so that others may have an easier time when they follow. Roots root up and loosen the soil bringing light and air and space for movement. Leaves and seeds and bark shed and decompose at the feet of the White Goddess. She gives of her body to nourish the ground and prepare it for the healthy growth of others. She is Mother. And like so many females of other species, eventually she will give all of herself as a complete sacrifice in service to the next generation who will continue her work. She is an envoy of Mother Earth Herself. An appendage, a streak of light, a solar flare or moon beam that reaches above Gaia’s own bodily limits to extend her power, just a little farther, to give just a little more.

Birch burns hot white as a beacon saying, Come here. I will prepare new life for you. I will open the closed to you. And you, dear one, may take root and grow and flourish into generations of new life, new Earth. I will light the way. I honor the gifts of The Lady of the Woods by choosing her name of Birch as my own, and pray to be graced by her gifts.

I am grateful to find a place with rich soil to grow a community. May we take root, and flourish together.

@Bia.Birch 🌱

All artwork, photographs, and content are original and created by @bia.birch unless otherwise credited

Inspired by:

The Hidden Life of Trees, Peter Wohlleben

Lesson of the Birch, from The Wisdom of Trees, by Jane Gifford

From Russia with Love Blog, by Lastochka

Sort:  

Ah, stunning. @trucklife-family would love this one.

The silver birches are so feminine to me - nourishing and motherlike. This fits the Russian etymology 'to take care of', doesn't it? I think the German origins of the word are 'buch', for 'book' because of the bark paper, but I could be wrong.

I love the "book" reference to the bark. Makes complete sense.

beautiful text and poetry .

Thank you @yousafharoonkhan. I have been enjoying your posts as well. One of my favorite parts of @steemit is how it connects people from all over the world to learn from each other 🌱

you reminded me of my childhood and the hundred acre woods

What a lovely complement 🌱

Congratulations @bia.birch! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account.
If you are a community leader and/or contest organizer, please join the Discord and let us know you if you would like to promote the posting of your community or contest.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67003.49
ETH 3502.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87