BLACKOUT POETRY- Graphite

in #poetry7 years ago

WHAT IS A BLACKOUT POEM?

A blackout poem is when a poet marks out already established text– like in a newspaper– and starts redacting words until a poem is formed. One interesting feature of a blackout poem is that the text AND redacted text create not only a poem, but also a work of visual art.

GRAPHITE-

Here is another of my experiments with blackout poetry. It is titled, Graphite. Below the poem is the text it was created from.

OTHER BLACKOUT POEMS-

PREVIOUS LIVES
FALSE KEEL

FC5B9D8F-F9B4-4F0A-A399-4F2AFA358ED8.jpeg

48353EF3-0D2B-44E9-8385-58F2B58F64D6.jpeg

logo 1.jpg

Sort:  

Love it! Did you get inspired by Austin Kleon? He's been doing these for a while, you should definetely check him out. I also have some of his book stuff on my page! Also, I just discovered your channel - I'm also involved in the art scene, kind of. However, I don't make beautiful poems as you do 😉 But I'm trying to be helpful by publishing articles about artists, the art scene & a daily Dosis of inspiration and motivation 😇 Would love to have a chat with you on my channel!

My inspiration came from a poet friend of mine who does these, Sarah Sloat. When I get some time later today I will check out your blog. Thanks for your interest and comments.

We're all in the same boat here at steemit, so let's grow something awesome together :)

Oh wow!! This is such an awesome idea! I think I've come across this before but didn't pay it any attention. What a mistake that was! Thanks for bringing this to my attention, Dale. Will definitely try this out soon!

It’s lots of fun, give it a try.

Definitely! Looking for words to cobble together as we speak.

Thanx for the info. Nice post !

Your’re welcome.

Never heard of this. Nice

Glad you enjoyed it.

This is the first time i heard of black out poem.
It does look like some kind of art

They are fun to do and there are lots of ways to make them visually interesting.

You’re welcome.

This post has caught the eye of @MuxxyBot and has been nominated by the curation team.
If chosen it will feature in a curation post by @MuxxyBot. An image from your post may be featured.
Please reply to this comment if you accept or decline.

Sure, sounds like a plan.

Great! MuxxyBot posts poetry curation on Tuesdays. 😃

This is really cool. Never saw it before, I like it ;)

Hi there - I rec'd a DM from you from #Promotion with a link to this post. ??

Hmmm, not a DM, it was just an indication in my #promotion post that I had upped your post.

ah....thank you. I couldn't see it on the #promotion so I wondered if maybe someone was using your identity - after the trouble from the other day with some kind of hack..so I wanted to check. Thank you for upping my post and getting back to me.

No problem, have a good day.

Congratulations. This poem has been featured in this week's Muxxybot Poetry Curation post.

https://steemit.com/poetry/@muxxybot/muxxybot-poetry-curation-2

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64504.36
ETH 3414.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51