BLACKOUT POETRY / Previous Lives

in #poetry7 years ago

WHAT IS A BLACKOUT POEM?

A blackout poem is when a poet marks out already established text– like in a newspaper– and starts redacting words until a poem is formed. One interesting feature of a blackout poem is that the text AND redacted text create not only a poem, but also a work of visual art.

PREVIOUS LIVES-

I have just started to experiment with blackout poetry and have to say its a great deal of fun. Here is one of my blackout poems titled, Previous Lives. Below the poem is the text it was created from.

37F69142-2F0C-428B-A514-F29BF89636E9.jpeg

C1ED6B2B-E79B-46E4-8AE0-81E06DC9FAD8.jpeg

logo 1.jpg

Sort:  

This is very interesting, never heard about it before:)

It comes from a catagory of poetry called found poems, give it a google some interesting stuff.

Heey, thank you for the tip!:)

Mad interesting. I like it

I have heard people do this with litter they find in the street. I image there are lots of potential poems blowing through Brooklyn.

No doubt. Brooklyn got a galaxy😀

I like this!!!!

Thanks, they are fun to make.

This is new to me! Hmm. Interesting!

Thanks, I am glad you found it interesting.

"Men at some point are masters of their fate"...We bettter remember this line before we point at the stars!

I am seeing stars as ancient light we are just now seeing, so graves in our stars, are the deaths of the past, those previous lives mentioned in the title.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59274.98
ETH 2600.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44