Pride

in #poetry6 years ago

40404067_1924091460985735_4086342695570636800_n.jpg


Harsh voices scream inside of me.
Reminders of long past lives,
shattered pieces of personalities,
fighting for attention.
Reflections of guilt and memories,
of different times,
in different worlds.

Under all these layers
is one long neverending howl
of one hungry beast,
that dreams.
Hidden in the shadows
of destruction,
like lightning in a thunderstorm,
it cuts through all the noises
and shows itself
in a bitter smile.
It hides in the darkness of the eye,
watching, waiting,
for all the walls to break.
Violence and cruelty
are but a game.
It wants to see the world
fall to its knees

Pride, my dear
the soul says in a soothing voice,
won't you come back here?
See, I got lots of things
to heal and feed you with.
Why should you be hunting for yourself?
There is nothing,
that wouldn't leave a bad taste.
Let the body rest
and I take care of you.
One scratch and you stir up
all this resting pain,
make all the lives lived again
and let them rise
this thunderstorm of yours.

The beast laughs and its echo
goes from head to toe.
It knows it needs to rest
and yet, it wants revenge.
What could you feed me with,
it growled,
these dreams and hopes of yours?
I am here to protect you too,
you useless tool.
Have you not learned in all your lives,
that love takes its toll?
All these voices here
can tell of your disasters.
Sharing, caring, giving,
that is all you talk about.
Leaving us to pay
and dwell in pain.
I say, let us take from them and
give back only guilt and shame

Pride, my dearest,
we chose this life
a long time ago,
knowing well,
what it would put us through.
I won't allow you to die
in this useless fight of yours
and die you would.
Who will dance,
when the light comes back and
warms us all.
Look here, I saved you some
of the best tasting moments,
the soul smiles
and opens the door to its house.

Curious, the battered beast
leaves the shadows.
The air is full is full with smells
of bedsheets in summer,
campfires, sweaty dances,
endless conversations,
growing seeds,
kisses and bungalows by the sea.
With old books and laughter
and freshly baked bread.
With secrets and shared dreams.
I saved them for you and
I want you to eat them all,
they are not going to last

What about you?
the beast asks,
licking its teeth in desire.

I have been hungry
ever since I exist.
I could eat
the whole world and
it would not be enough,
the soul says,
gently stroking the beast.
All this is just a piece
of what is waiting for us.

Sort:  

very interesting words describing the relationship between separate sections of the inner self. interesting artwork also, did you draw that yourself or was it something you found which embodied the spirit of what you are expressing ?

Your post was upvoted by the Copes Upvote Initiative. My account was delegated 5000SP for one month by Make a Minnow on the P.A.L Network. This has increased my voting power to more than 10 times what it normally is, with some assistance of my Superfriends over on Helpie the Copes Upvote Initiative was created for a limited time, please check out the programs which made this possible and for your chance to be selected to have 5000SP delegated to you.

Much love in your direction

~ Cope

Thank you for your comment. Your appreciaton means a lot, because this poem means a lot to me.
I did draw that myself, too. If you feel like checking out my blog, yu'll see that I try to couple most of my texts with drawings. I will check out the programs too. I hope you will make a lot of people as happy as you made me with your curating!

No problems mate, credit where credit is due :) I thought they were your drawings too, just never know unless explicitly told, lol. Good to hear the upvote made your day :) much love in your direction

wow pretty cool. I also read the comments and see the artwork is also yours. there are so many talented people on steemit.
I see you are here on steemit a few months now, just had a look around your account. I know when people start here they get a few welcome messages, but after that, if you have not joined a community you can easily get lost in the sea of posts. How are you getting on here on steemit anyway?

I’m doing a little bit of outreach this week with those that have been here a few weeks and have had some time to get a feel for the place. Would love to know your thoughts so far? Is there anything I can help you with or questions I can answer for you?

One tip I am spreading this week is to check your mentions. being part of steemit includes engagement and if someone happens to mention you in a post, you should really check it out. You can find your mentions on https://steemworld.org/@bamboozled, if you look through the tabs, you will find all your mentions.

Regards
Paula
STEEM Witness @steemcommuity
STEEM COMMUNITY - Steemit Profile Banner.jpg

@paulag thank you for your comment. Thanks to the german community I know about steemworld. One of my favourite tools, too! I am still experimenting with different topics as well as different tools, such as steempress, resteem services or bots.
I invested enough in steem to make my vote count, and I am still looking for communities that fit. If you have any recommendations, I would be happy for any further advice or tips!
This outreach of yours is extremely motivating, thank you.

my favorite tool too :-) The German community seems to be pretty big here on steemit. Steempress I like and have used, resteem services and bots i tend to say away from myself, but each for their own,

Communities that fit, have you looked at the writers block? here is a link for their discord server https://discord.gg/zMPGeq
Just remember, with communities, the more you put in the more you get out and you need to engage with them to benefit. The same goes for all communities.

Also you might want to check out @abh12345 engagement league, all the top engagers get together on this post once a week, so its an awesome place to find people that 'do' interact

https://steemit.com/engagement/@abh12345/6fhokz-the-curation-and-engagement-leagues-steem-prizes-and-steem-bounty-available

Feel free to hit me up on discord so we can hook you up with the right supports paulag (steemcommunity witness)#0515

Cool, I did check out the engangement league. I hope he did receive the delegation by @albensilverberg, because his initiative is awesome!
And what I seen and tried so far, the only bot I am using is Ginabot :D
Thank you for your kind offer. If I am more consistent in my writing, I might be a better member for the writers block. I'll keep working on it.

dont give up, if writers block are not a good fit, they will be able to tell you who are, and you can always leave a comment on one of my posts if you need any help or assistance, even if it is off topic on the post :-)

Congratulations @bamboozled! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @bamboozled! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 68123.51
ETH 3488.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72