[Poem] The Falls Nearest Home - bacchus

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Image Source

I draw on the surface of the water

I make a fresh cut when the paint runs dry

My finger tastes of iron and art


I pack my brushes in my pockets

I stand and the sky falls

Mud, grass, and paint stain my pants


I walk beside the moonlight

I whistle as the falls behind me drum

Warm light from an open window bleeds


I return home from home

I paint with my hands

Father paints with his words


I drink hot stew and sleep in a cool corner

The night keeps me awake

The morning keeps me waiting


Hot mist and cool breeze

My canvas: wet rock

I carve a sculpture out of earth and flesh

I have never been closer to these falls


I see father

Father found the falls and father found home


I sculpt with my bones

Father sculpts with his fists


I jump from the rocks and into water

I rise out of the canvas anew

I leave my past to drown

But I return home from home

Sort:  

Is this your own writing?

It is my own. Is your suspicion compliment?

Congratulations @bacchus! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @bacchus! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57326.97
ETH 2428.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32