I Might Be Harder to Love

in #poetry7 years ago

IMG_6740.JPG

I’ve given up on the idea of being a woman who’s easy to love
I’m not easily coerced, rarely do I “go with the flow”
I have an immense amount of determination
I’m strong-willed
Opinionated
Stubborn as fuck
And dedicated to what I believe to be truth
Complicated and complex are words frequently used to describe me
Therefore, loving me is like a marathon
It requires full, sustained energy
Endurance, resiliency, and a deep seated sense of strength are necessities when it comes to matters of my heart
Those that are timid need not apply
Loving me requires ferocity and dedication
It will ask for everything your made of, and then some
There isn’t a thing that gets past me, because I feel it all
So, you’ll have to be willing to operate in dealings with a psychic
Because nothing flies under the radar here
To love me is to dive deeply
I have no interest in merely scratching the surface
Because feeling it all is my agenda in life
No matter how shadowy or frightening
There must be a wholehearted willingness to explore the pain and suffering
Alongside the ecstasy and joy
For every ounce of intensity that accompanies loving me
There will be commitment and dedication returned tenfold
And play
There will be infinite play
Because if fuckery was a love language, that would be mine.
The depth of my heart knows no bounds
Therefore love shared with me knows so bounds.
I love hard, fast, and wildly
Loving me will bring you right up to your edge
And maybe even beyond it
But what’s just beyond that edge is the mystery
The unknown
And opportunity for transformation that only the greatest love and pleasure can offer
There will be tests in loving me
Because I want to know my devotion will be fully reciprocated
But in turn you will have such fierce dedication
That it feels like an army of support at your back.
Sure, loving me might feel akin to the death and rebirth cycle
But it will also bring you closer to knowing the truth of who you are every single day
I don’t know anything but going deep with another
And yes
That might not make me easy to love
But I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Sort:  

Nice writing style, will upvote you for that. Dont know about what you are saying, sounds too much demanding/giving to me. I see a working relation as very free and good quality time together. Takr care!

Lovely prose. :c)

For the personality depicted, I'd suggest the following three adjustments over time:

  1. Ensure that a partner 'can' thrive and be him or herself in your shadow. If this cannot be so then what one is actually seeking is an underling, not a partner.

  2. A life of determination and intensity can fatigue some potential partners. How about settling for the partner simply not getting in your way?

  3. Strive for consistency and fairness rather than compensation. Otherwise one will find that one is not seeking equality but rather supremacy.

And none of the above are bad - for as long as one finds the right person to compliment rather than wilt beneath those traits. Both he and her would be happier for it.

Thank you for the gift of this poem. Have a pleasant day.

#WOMEN

I curate #poetry and posts with the tag #onehumanbasket
Find out more in the NEW Poetry Dice Challenge

Congratulations @alischueler! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The semi-finals are coming. Be ready!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @alischueler! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68394.30
ETH 2644.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69