Momma Momma Can't You See

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

060.jpg

The lyrics are based on a marching cadence I learned in the Marines and was written back in 2007.

Whoa oh . . .
Momma, momma can't you see?
What the Corps has done to me?
They put me in a barber's chair,
Spun me around, I had no hair.
I used to date a beauty queen,
Now I've got my m-16.
I used to drive a Cadillac,
Now I'm humping with a pack.
I used to wear my faded jeans,
Now I'm wearing cammie greens.
Whoa oh . . .
Momma, momma can't you see?
What the dubya's done to me?
I used to drive a Cadillac,
Now I'm cruisin' through Iraq.
They took away my smokes and rum,
But smokin' hajji's much more fun.
There's pay and benefits and such,
But KBR makes twice as much.
My intel came from spooks and men,
Now it comes from CNN.
Whoa oh . . .
Momma, momma can't you see?
What the sand has done to me?
I used to smoke during a break,
Now I double nic to stay awake.
My second tour got me divorced,
For number three we're back in force.
John, that IED's no joke,
McCain knows we're getting smoked.
There's TBI and amputees and such,
But DU's effects don't show as much.
Whoa oh . . .

Sort:  

I'd love to know who exactly made this song.

I kinda wish I could remember some of the cadences, though probably better not to. Basically all euphemisms for “kill and humiliate strangers, while sacrificing our personal lives and relationships.” And we all would laugh and cheer like idiots. #nationalism

Nice Words, Request you to please upvote & comment on my blogs too as I am new here & need support of you guys to grow on Steemit.

Think these lyrics would go well with a deep beat

So rhythmical! And the repetitive nature of momma momma was something i really liked.. It’s like a real life story! I could relate.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I would definitely love to hear the song @adamkokesh Do you think you can share a link to the song?

It's a great post which is astonishing to see. Thank you

Brilliantly pointed

very wise words. can inspire for us all. thank you @adamkokesh

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59500.17
ETH 2654.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41