A Star With Scars

in #poem5 years ago (edited)

sad-girl-3007433_1920.jpg
Image Pixabay

All I could remember were the screams,
The clouds melted, humanity left me,
Hope, faith, trust, life -- It all left me
I felt the ache, the thrill, and the guilt...
All that remained were the voices

They kept reminding me
I could have been stronger
But No, I yielded to pressure
I yielded to the feelings
Then I lost that battle and eventually lost the war

You are the reason for my discomfort
Your smile was so enchanting
Your voice addicting
They made my dim light glow
And my desert snow

Ascaris turned to butterflies
And they danced to the rhythm of your laughter
This was love.....
Finally I had found it all

I wanted it all, the love, the hugs, the trust
I wanted to be the one
The one you hold as you take sunset walks
The one you fantasized about from dusk till dawn
And for a brief moment I thought I was, till you turned your back and slammed that door

You said you loved me....
I was lost for words
Lips trembling, eyelids fluttering, tears gushing
I was a star but you left me with scars...
Your love hurt me

Or did it....
I think it taught me
But I was too hurt to finish the lesson
Maybe one day I'll look back and see it as a blessing
I should say thank you for the time, the memories and smiles...
But naaaa!!!



I hope you enjoyed this piece, I was scrolling through my phone and found this really old piece I posted earlier on, and thought to do a little rewrite to it. Here's the original, Love Where Art Thou, tell me which version was better, I'll like to know. 🙂🙂🙂

Sort:  

Thanks for this sweet poet... I love reading it again and again, hoping to see more from you!

Thank you, I'm glad you liked it!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Your post has been featured on @wafrica

Courtesy of @nmalove

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60061.12
ETH 3196.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45