The Old And The New Me (original poem by @SumatraNate)

in #poem6 years ago

handcuffs-921290_640.jpg

Wretched, wicked, wasted, wounded,
Spiritually blind, emotionally jaded,
Enslaved by death, the law, and sin,
Driven by works and the ways of men.

Renewed, revived, restored, refreshed,
A heart of stone turned back to flesh.
Truth and Peace now guide my days,
And fill my soul with endless praise.


Image Source: https://pixabay.com/en/handcuffs-caught-crime-sin-921290/

Sort:  

I am not really into poetry but this one has something cathartic to it :)

@zija2022, thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. I appreciate you letting me know that my poem is making an impact.

I feel blessed to be able to share how I am feeling. I hope it becomes a blessing to others as well.

I feel I go back and forth sometimes! Thanks for sharing.

Glad to share. Emotionally I move back and forth at times. At a fundamental level (spiritually) I am trying to live a life in the second stanza.

In order to succeed we need to learn from our failures

Learning is an important part of life. For me, transformation is also important.

Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment.

That says it all, and what a beautiful way to say it!

Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. I appreciate it.

You are welcome. Have a Blessed weekend! :-)

Wow, I really like this. I like how the two stanzas have a total shift - just like when you lay your life down! This is a really nice poem - good job.

Thanks for the kind comment @apanamamama. I was definitely going for a shift. It describes how my life has dramatically changed.

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules.

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote & Resteem the latest dropahead Curation Reports!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
12.5SP, 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: How to give back to the dropahead Project in 15 seconds or less

Quality review by the dropahead Curation Team

According to our quality standards(1), your publication has reached an score of 70%.

There are several details that can be improved Step by step you will go far! "Learning never tires the mind" - Leonardo Da Vinci


(1) dropahead Witness' quality standards:

- Graphic relation to the text (Choice of images according to the text)
- Order and coherence
- Style and uniqueness (Personal touch, logic, complexity, what makes it interesting and easy to understand for the reader)
- Images source and their usage license

This post has received gratitude of 2.49% from @appreciator courtesy of @sumatranate!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65407.18
ETH 3576.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48