Longing For Sleep (original poetry by @SumatraNate)

in #poem6 years ago (edited)

clock-1702513_640.jpg

Last night I laid myself in bed, I took a breath, laid down my head,
But the drumming beat of thoughts and fears, grew louder still, ringing in my ears.

What if's and why now's came crashing down
They drowned out each and every sound.

My eye's lids drooping, mind's eyes awaken,
As the broken silence was tattered and shaken.

I cried, I begged in whispered screams,
To find some peace, and those sweet, sweet dreams.

And when at last, I drifted away, asleep at rest I could not stay.
That lurching beast, he robbed my slumber, rolled away the night, turned on the day.

@SumatraNate


Image Source: https://pixabay.com/en/clock-alarm-clock-time-past-1702513/


Check out my online course - Steem Markdown

Affiliate Banner 2 - Steem Markdown Banner.jpg

Sort:  

Very intense. It is a lovely poem, hard but beautiful. 💚

Thanks for the kind words. It is amazing how life is a strange mix of hard, but beautiful.

I don't often click on poems, but something in the title drew me in, maybe the lack of sleep lol, thanks for sharing I hate the what ifs and whys when I am trying to drift off to sleep. I hope this doesn't happen to you often. :)

Life is a bit challenging right now. My family is working through some major decisions. We are trying to focus on what we know is true and let the rest just pass by.

Easy to say, but hard to do. Thanks for clicking on some random poetry. Glad you stopped by and I hope you get some good rest as well.

Thank you, I'm a little nore rested but still tired. I hope the major decisions ypur family has to make work out for the best.

Lovely written poem! I have a hard time putting my brain to rest at night mainly because I think about the things I need to get done the next day.

Thanks for sharing ~

Always glad to share. I am reminded that today has enough worries, so we should not worry about tomorrow. That is a beautiful truth that many of us (myself included struggle with).

I too struggle with that. It’s really important to remember this and try to only focus on today and what’s in front of us.

Seperti puisi malam yang menggambarkan kegelisahan dalam kesunyian, hehehe...

perbanyak doa dan harapan sehingga mimpi indah akan menggantikan kegelisahan dan ketakutan

Trims atas doanya!

A good poem is written with your sleep.

sebuah puisi menggambarkan ketakutan menjelang mimpi indah, semoga anda sekeluarga sehat selalu temanku

Nicely written @sumatranate!

Thanks for the kind words.

Ahhhh Ive had quite a few nights like this.
Very nice poetry. ♥

Thanks for reading my poetry. Sorry to hear that you have experienced nights like this. My hope is that you can find deep rest.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60719.63
ETH 2911.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59