Night Tears~ A Snook Poem

in #poem6 years ago (edited)



Poems. I know nothing about them. Until Steemit I never wrote anything resembling a poem before in my life. I never read poems for the simple fact that, most times, I had no idea what they were talking about.

Poems held beautiful words jumbled on a page. They looked cool sitting there all full of meaning my mind didn't grasp. I balked at reading a poem.

When I first started doing Freewrites, I came across a prompt that sang 'something like a song in my head'. The sentences were not complete but they begged to be written that day. That was the first poem I ever wrote. I only knew it was a real poem from the comments friends of mine made.

I was shocked people liked my broken words they saw on the page. It surprised me to no end. I'm not saying I did not like what I had written, I did, or I would not have posted it that day. What it did teach me was to go with my guts when words want to come from my head to paper even if they look a bit broken.

Is the poem I wrote below a 'true, follow the rule' poem? I have no idea but I highly doubt it. What this poem stands for are words that needed to be written, at this time, on this day.



Night Tears



Tears from the soul,
Coming late at night.
All feels lost,
All feels unable,
No attaining perfection,
Amounts to large,
No winning,
No lounging,
No escaping,
Not even for a while.

It comes to eat,
To pray upon your weakest links,
To bury itself inside your soul.

Knowing your weakness,
No matter what you try.
Holding on to the last piece.
Struggling to make you weaker.
It takes, spreads and grows.

You fight, as best you can.
An easy task, it is not.
The light seems to be dimming.
Don't let the spark go out.

Reach, reach,
so deep inside.
Reach, reach,
for the light.
Reach, reach,
stretching with all your might.
Reach, reach,
for the anchor, you know is there.

Turn as one,
look into her eyes.
Pour out your soul,
to the one that loves you so.
She, your other half,
Promised to catch you,
Hold you up,
When most needed,
Help the light grow.

Vow's spoken,
In pure light,
Wait for you,
Within reach,
Just remember,

Two are one,
for a reason.

~Snook



Whenever this type of writing comes out of me and onto a page, it is by necessity. Someone, somewhere, needs to read what is written. Sometimes that person is me. Other times I never know. Once the words are out into the air, my head clears, once again, to think of lighter, sillier things.

Until the time the words are posted, they lived in my soul to make right. These poems or posts, where the words write themselves, get one thousand percent of my attention until they are made just right. There is no sleeping before they are done. They become that important to me until they are set free to live and breath among the many pages of Steemit.



YouTube Link



Written, read, filmed and edited by @snook

Background filmed in Rift

Avatar from Facerig

Music by Aquaerials



I hope you enjoyed the poem.

Take time to laugh today!

Love,

Snook

Sweet footer made by @enginewitty!

Sort:  
There are many styles of poetry; some have rigid forms and some do not. This definitely falls into a category of non-rigid, non-rhyming style: freeform verse!

  • Bravo for writing this, even though you did not think you knew how to write poetry!
  • Bravo for writing this rather than keeping your feelings bottled-up inside!
  • Bravo for writing such beautiful words, words straight from your heart and soul!
  • Bravo for your lovely reading of the poem for us in your own sweet voice!
  • Bravo for sharing with us, and giving us yet another reason (as if we needed one) as to why we love you and why we think you are special. ❤️

Thank you for this.

You made me tear up. You are so very kind and I love your beautiful giving heart!!

Can I read this? Of course I can, not a fukn illiterate idiot I meant, read it out loud later on DLive?

yes of course

I'm still trying to figure out who you were yelling at LOLLL

I think someone needs some peace and quiet!!

This is beautiful! You write great poems! Love the video.

Thank You!! I'm so happy you liked it!

WOW! You are pushing outside your box. Nicely done!!

well, I can not tell you to and not try it myself LOLL well I can but............... hugs

Hello, as a member of @steemdunk you have received a free courtesy boost! Steemdunk is an automated curation platform that is easy to use and built for the community. Join us at https://steemdunk.xyz

Upvote this comment to support the bot and increase your future rewards!

Oh snook!! You have such an artist! I am so glad that you letting those words fly out of you to the page. I know that someone needs to read this right now!
Much love!

Thank You!!!!!!!!!!! YOU DO know I OWE it all to YOU!! I can never thank you enough!! many hugs and lots of love

Many hugs back at you - and I just heard you say in your shirt video that you haven't been feeling good for a week. Hugs!! Lots of them. That must be especially hard with visitors.
Speaking of visitors. Guess who is coming tomorrow to stay with me for a few days? 🙄 🤫 answer in DM 😂

:D YOU will have a BALL!! :D

Congratulations @snook! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

First, I completely agree with everything you said about poems.

Second, great writing can speak to many people on many levels. I know there's something in here for me. 😊

Third, {Hug}

Thank You. You made me tear up. In a good way!! hugs

truly enjoyed this.
both the post and the video

Thank You so very very much!!!! You made my day!

Thank You so much for stopping by!!!! and liking my poem!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63098.94
ETH 2621.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74