I Wrote Some Poems On Winter + I'm Learning Almost Every Subject For Mastery

in #poem6 years ago

Hey Winter,
Why is everything so dull?
It feels like that intern
who works for free and in turn
He'll mull,
"Tomorrow this building of my company I'll burn."

That was beautiful. Let's try one more.

The Sun departing so quickly
Makes the Sunday party longer
Monday morning sick leave
the alcoholic's hangover.

Notice the play on words in the second line. The rest of it is crap.

Feels like the contrast of the world
has been lowered to the negatives.
Winter is just like sleepy pills and sedatives
Into the dream grounds you are hurled.

That barely passed the Find Out If You Are A Poem quiz.

Wait, why're my hands so cold?
Winter is here, is this how I'm told?
Words are jumbled in English old
Why? I'll tell, my beer you hold.

That was the 'hold my beer' line jumbled up.

It's Winter in India

And so I'm writing these poems because it's the winter blues, and that makes a person write poems for reasons I do not know. Next I'm supposed to go ice skating over the frozen lake, but there's no frozen here, only a lake. And I can't swim.

Guess drowning it is.



thum.png


I've Been Learning

Long ago, in a land far far away called Steemit which is right here, and only 2 months back...I had made a resolve to learn subjects like Math, Science and whatnot on a website called Khan Academy. Back then I didn't start.
But then I did.

And today, it's been more than 2 continuous weeks of me learning through their app.

So far,

I've experienced dislikes and likes regarding the subjects I learnt. Cryptography was really confusing, basic math was (we're talking all the way from 1st grade, now I'm on 4th) slow and a bit boring but doable, physics was just UGH and too dry, high school biology (I learnt about how the heart works, woohoo!) was fun so I'm starting to like that, space & cosmology was so complex with numbers, English Grammar seemed like a waste of time (like learning what a noun is), economics is somewhere in the middle.

All of this is still early stages. I've barely scraped the surface in all of these subjects.

But I wanted to let you guys know what stage this genius is in right now. i want everybody to see the progress. Not every time people care to see the work that goes into things. They only see the end result. Like how you compare yourself with that person.

An idea I love, by Sal from Khan Academy:

Learn for gaining mastery, not just test scores.

Damn man, I've yet to use that stylus I bought properly.





Sort:  

Congratulations @sharanaithal! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55326.60
ETH 2348.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32