A Poem for Me

in #poem8 years ago

enter image description here

A Poem of past and present... Hope you enjoy.

Fallen

here i lay a crumbled man
heartless or hopeful i don't know which
saying to myself to reach for the greatness that i am
yet stumbling upon my own two feet, seeing no progress
when lord, when will these eyes no longer weep
when will this heart no longer be weak...
i breath heavily through corrupted lungs and pain
waiting for the day the shadows are behind me
instead of in front me
a prayer for those i love yet always forgetting to pray for myself
lost in my own actions and my own deceptions
what is love... what is life?
a broken soldier that's full of strife
at one point i knew my destiny
now lost i can barely see today
dwelling on past grief and drowning on my own belief
when lord, when will you place this soldier back on his feet...

-Jason Nieves

Sort:  

Awwwesomeness! I'm no rocket scientist, but what I do know is that the Lord hears His children when we cry out, and He knows our hearts..even when we don't have the words. But you've got them soldier! (Found the "thingy")

Congratulations @scarsanstripes! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @scarsanstripes! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @scarsanstripes! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53554.32
ETH 2224.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29