Creative Writing Challenge Task 3: Picture Story

in #poem7 years ago

Take a look at this image:

It was taken 2 days ago with my old smart phone.

What you see is an image of a plane approaching the airport. The plane is the light circled in red.

Your task is writing a short story related with that plane.

I will assume that you don't need any hints because you are creative enough to think in and out of the box.

Think of your story as a part of a bigger one, even as big as a novel if you'd like.

Story Time...

Running full speed. Jump on the nearest ladder. Climb as high as possible.

Did I make it on time?

Looks up and searches the sky for answers. It comes every night. Sometimes I catch it at the very end. Sometimes I catch it as it launches across the sunset. Most nights it seems so far. Sometimes it seems to expand beyond the skyline. Tonight, I snap a picture. Circle it in red for all to see. The dot of hope circles around twice tonight.

Is it a plane? Is it a bird? I will tell you what it isn't. It isn't filled with flowers to the wedding that was canceled. It isn't going to the venue with a two year waiting list. This plane carries loved ones and their belongs. This plane is destined to destinations predetermined. All are wondering the same thoughts...

Did I make it on time?

Arriving early to arrange. Some are delayed and on their way. Either way any arrangements must be rearranged. Encouraged to engage in the process. Some have dresses to sell. Some have vendors to cancel. Three years waiting to say yes and now we wave goodbye. Doing was my challenge and undoing will be theirs. Frustrated with all the time spent on pictures and pieces. Careful consideration of color specific invitation and thank you cards. Planning to plan then un-planning the planned.

There are no tears. The secret to surviving this destruction of what once was a dream is to run. Running full speed. Jump on the nearest ladder. Climb as high as possible. On top of this building I am the furthest from the reality down under. Up here I am safe. Up here all I see is that plane. That plane that looks like a bird flying free. It flies free of the promises that once was shared between two souls. All wondering the same thoughts...

Did I make it on time?

I ran, I climbed, I jumped into the black hole of avoidance. Every new challenge, every new phase, every new day is a breath of new air. This air doesn't hold the reality from what once was, but holds the promise of a better tomorrow. A new normal is much like learning to breathe without oxygen. It hurts and feels like death. So unbearable is the pain. Until your body readjusts. It accepts its new terms for living. Each day your body is fighting to function. Each day gaining new ground and easing the struggle.


Doctorcrypto.gif

Sort:  

Awesome job, @kubbyelizabeth! It really has a mixed bag of feelings of guilt, sadness at what could have been, but also freedom from that same thing. Love it!!

Would be curious to read your interpretation @morodiene.

Thank you! I really enjoyed your story too. You said it was the end and I'm curious to know know more about the beginning. You got me hooked!

Haha, maybe that will be in one of the future challenges!

I love this Kubby! I want to join the challenge but I have no idea where to start. Going to sit quietly and brainstorm now now 🐭

You are officially in it. Cannot wait to see your take on these challenges. Get to writing girl!

Yeah, why not follow along with the few other participants that are just enjoying the creative writing core element of the contest. No need to wait for a next challenge.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Kubby Elizabeth from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

It hurt to read this Kubby, so I read it again to make sure I read it right the first time...then the last time I read it I just wished she would get on a plane, in a car, on a bus and go away from that rooftop ladder...and be free once again. I'm sorry she was hurt. I hope she can ready herself to take that chance to be hurt again. As many times as it takes to be happy again...for good.

As a friend once said, it only takes one to make it all worth it. She'll find love again. Thanks for reading and rereading

And sometimes the "one" turned away was worth fighting for. Nothing is certain, nothing is perfect.

I still enjoyed your story Kubby...and yes you are becoming quite prolific. ~smiles~

logyx

Glad to hear it my friend! Much love

This is golden @kubbyelizabeth! Looking forward to see more of your work.

You are golden and together we're shinny:-)

I also read it twice, because it was so bitter and sad, it just attracted me

I would ask you consider the way you use space though.

I found it claustrophobic to be in those dense blocks of text, when it (this writing) was more poetry than prose.

If you had
spaced line to line
it would have been far more
...
compelling

IMHO of course, just my two cents worth.

Maybe you were looking for that claustrophobia, but it was almost enough to turn me off reading it.

Thank you for the 2 cents. My goal is to write aesthetically pleasing pieces as well. You are right. If the story line isn't captivating enough readers will be turned off by the volume. I'm still learning the balance of picture and bulk paragraph spacing. Thanks for stopping by and giving honest feedback. It was always hurts a little, but I know it comes from a good place

yes, my main thought reading it was,
this is more a poem than it is prose.

there is a happy medium though...

I think my writing is much more accesible when I space it out a bit.

whether it is prose or poetry

came from the best place of wanting to see you shine even more. hope it didn't hurt too much, sorry for the hurts that it did 'cause

bigs hugs @kubbyelizabeth

I appreciate your honesty not many give it so gently. Always feel free to share your thoughts on improvements

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57030.30
ETH 2858.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62