WHAT HAPPENED TO US?

in #poem6 years ago

love-2666677_960_720.jpg
Source : Pixabay

I remember how we used to be
It was a love so pure
We were meant for each other
We always thought about us all the time

I remember the first day I saw you
I just knew we had a future
It was a different kind of feeling
I also knew you felt the same

Ours was love at first sight.
We started with a simple conversation.
We couldn't get along initially
We both knew it was temporarily

You started visiting
You started paying attention
You started listening to my garbles
You started getting close to my heart

We were always there for each other
During my hard times, you were there
During your troubles and hurdles, I was there
You became a huge part of my life.

I can still remember our talks
Calls, texts, chats and voice notes
We discussed and talked
On nothing particularly important

Little by little, you took over my heart
Until there was no other space for any other person
It was as if I had been bamboozled
With an ecstasy that isn't retractable

You became a part of me
Just like my eyes
I couldn't see without you
Just like my ears, I couldn't hear anything apart from your voice

We could be together all day
And once were apart
We would commence our calls and chats session
It was the best experience I ever had

We talked and talked and talked
We had morning talk sessions
We had afternoon talk sessions
Evening and night sessions were not dismissible.

You would visit me then and we would stay together for like forever
Time seems to be very fast whenever we were together
We would always hope we had the ability to control time
So we can pause it for some hundreds of years and stay together for that much time.

We had plans and goals
We talked about the future and our lives
Our achievements and proposals
It was a love well founded

Until it happened
We knew we weren't ready
We knew everything was about to change
But we couldn't help it.

It all started with a kiss
You gave me one and swept me off my feet
I didn't know about it but you showed me
I didn't know how to but you taught me

Then you traveled and left me
I couldn't live without you
I couldn't think without you
I was going crazy for you

We talked and talked and talked
Sometimes we talked for hours on the phone
Sometimes we stayed up all night just communicating
But it wasn't enough

Something was missing
Something wasn't alright
I saw the signs
But I neglected it still
I neglected it thinking all will be right

I did everything for you
I did anything for you
I did things
I did things

I did things I never expected
I did things I never imagined
I went places I couldn't have gone ** to**
I obliged to** do** many crazy things

All these I did for you
All these, just for your love
I thought I could get your love
But didn't know it was locked up somewhere else.

All these while I have been wishing
I have been waiting diligently
That we could go back to how we were
That we could start afresh from where we met.

I love you with my entire life
And I know you know that
What I don't know is
If you actually know what it means

You've hurt me severally
I had wanted to do same
But every time I see you
I lose interest in hurting you

Everyday I look at my phone
Expecting to see a call
Or even a flash
A little flash..

Even when I call
It goes on ringing unanswered
And after days
It's still not returned.

What have I done?
What should I do?
What would I have done?
What can I do?

What can I do to have your love?
What would I say to have you back to me?
What would make it for you?
What exactly do you want?

Now, We stay days without talking to each other,
Even weeks without wanting to know,
Before it was impossible to stay an hour without me
It was an amazing experience
Now it's all gone

What happened to us?
How did we become like this?
How did our love grow so cold?
How did we become what we are now?

The heart cry of a heartbroken magma.😧😨

My previous Poem

Sort:  

Congratulations @chukwuebukaa! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Colombia vs England


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57159.76
ETH 2351.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38