The Hypochondriac and the Witch

in #poem8 years ago

The events of this poem happened when I was about 14 yrs old. The hypochondriac is my mother.



Image

The Hypochondriac and the Witch


Dragged to the doctor:
For a tiny little cough.
Listened to my chest:
But I wasn't ill enough.

Antibiotics:
That he said I didn’t need.
Prescription written:
To placate her was his creed.

But oh! A mistake:
Why! He wrote a script for pills!
Less wisdom than doc:
I began a war of wills.

One to hold me down:
Oh I struggled; how I thrashed!
One to pinch my nose:
Bound-ar-ies I wish I’d smashed.

I can hear it still:
Evil cackle of the witch.
Humiliation:
Epic joke for such a bitch.

 
Read this earlier poem to discover more about the witch.

Sort:  

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

Wow, that's pretty interesting! Reminds me after I got Meningitis and they wanted to put me on some drug(s). I said "no!" :)

That feeling of helplessness...
Nice Poem

Thanks, yes helpless because if you're raised to respect your mum, you don't put your foot in her face, even when she's assaulting you. The worst part was having my face smothered by her hands until I had to swallow. Didn't really cure my pill swallowing phobia either!

Wow, very powerful poem! Your imagery really speaks loudly here. The flow is choppy, but I think that it adds to the gritty feeling that is generated from the imagery.

Thank you for sharing.

Thank you, I'm pleased that you appreciated it so much.

I found you off of the bad Steemit poetry post when you commented asking for feedback. I've been reading through your work... I wish I had some constructive criticism, but I don't. I really enjoyed it.

Are you doing the poetry slam challenge? You should. #poetryslamtwo

Thank you, what a wonderful confidence boost. I've never felt like I had much of an imagination, so I just stick to the good old advice of "write what you know."

Mmmmm....not bad. Showing maturity. Seen MUCH WORSE on here.

A good from you is now my acid test.

Stay tuned for my 3000th post soon - a poetic skills assessment of the @cathi-xx will make an appearance ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64188.14
ETH 2766.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66