Exploring Thought Episode #05 - Morality

in #podcast5 years ago

Here's a link to the audio/podcast if you'd like to listen instead of read.

Another foundational subject I'd like to get into early on is morality.
I read up on this word and as is often the case you can find quite a few different definitions or meanings.
The way I would read it is that morality is a system of values, especially in regard to right and wrong.

Morality has been a major part of my life, often expressing itself in the form of empathy for others.
A lot of people say morality is subjective and to some extent I agree that it is, but I also think there are perhaps universal or spiritual aspects to it.
If there was no sense of right or wrong, what would that mean? Why would we do anything at all if we didn't have preferences or aversions?
So... If we are going to have a sense of right and wrong, then why not study it like almost everything else in life and try to improve our understanding?

I think in all of my years of learning that the message that still resonates the most with me in regard to this is something like the Golden Rule.
Maybe not exactly how the various authorities or groups word it...
But, something along the lines of not intentionally treating others in ways I would not liked to be treated.
Especially when it comes to serious crimes like assault, theft, murder and the list goes on.
Seems so simple and so profound at the same time, imagine if everyone did that and didn't infringe on the rights of others in such ways?
The majority of crime if not virtually all crime would vanish.

I remember there was a philosophy of freedom video I saw on YouTube years ago which was really good and it helped give me a better understanding.
Interestingly enough I feel there are parallels here with the Golden Rule...
One of the main things I took away from that video is a deeper concept of property and that even our own bodies are our property.
I know some people disagree with the idea of property and think no one owns anything and maybe that's true, however I think the idea of property can be useful in ways.

And if we own anything in life, I would think it would be our own body?
So, others shouldn't be allowed to infringe on our property/body unless we give them permission.
Similarly we should not infringe on other people's properties/bodies without their permission.
There are exceptions to almost every rule I think, and we could argue about what property truly is...
The point though is that I think we should try to respect each other more.

The world seems so full of power hungry individuals who want to forcefully control things and if you get in their way it could have serious negative implications.
This is in my opinion heavily linked back to the immoral threat, initiation or use of force.
If we didn't unjustly infringe on each other, things would be so much more peaceful.
Outside of accidents or sports or other things like that I think that it's usually an initial immoral aggression by one side which often starts a conflict.

Unless you're like pushing someone out of the way of a car to help save their life or something like that...
You probably shouldn't typically otherwise try to touch others without permission.
And likewise we should hope that others don't infringe on us, however the world is full of people trying to force themselves on others in various ways.
I think this includes the world of animals and the environment as well. Morality isn't just about humans in my opinion.
If you can avoid harming other sentient beings and destroying the environment in nonessential manner then that should I think be an optimal choice.

Whether there is some deeper spiritual meaning to morality or not, I can't say for sure. Though, I personally prefer to try to be cognizant of these things either way.
And for whatever reason it makes me feel better to try to have a sense of empathy and honor and to make an effort to reduce being a negative impact on others.
Some might disagree and that's up to them, but I think deep down most of us would like to be treated with respect within reason.
And in return we should respect others within reason as well to be morally consistent as a sort of baseline.

Some of my most memorable and meaningful memories involve morality and it seems so unfortunate that not enough people seem to take special interest in the subject.
I believe the subject of morality deserves more attention, it effects so many sentient beings all over the world and perhaps beyond this world.
If we could put more of an emphasis on respecting each other and not unnecessarily infringing on each other unjustly...
Then that would be a really positive thing in a lot of different ways from my perspective.

Unfortunately a decent amount of people don't appear to care very much and some even celebrate depravity and immorality.
Trying to communicate with them towards different beliefs often doesn't work very well either as they are often very committed to their ways.
But I think it can be noble to try and I believe it starts in the mind.
If you do find someone you just can't get through to I think at some point it's wise to just accept it, for whatever reason sometimes we just can't find agreement.
And... Maybe you planted some good seeds and maybe some day those seeds will sprout and grow and if not at least you tried! <3

Now that I've shared my thoughts, I encourage you to share your thoughts if you want to.
Feel free to drop a comment on whichever social media is best for you or you can send an email to [email protected]
I'll do my best to respond if it's reasonable for me to do so and if I have the time and am able to.
Thank you for your time and bye until next time!

Sort:  

Hi apolymask,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Woohoo! Thanks curie! I think this is the second curie I've ever received and the first one was on my first episode of this podcast. I'm stoked that anyone is finding some value or worth in what I am doing. That cheered me up and improved my day. It's much appreciated, thank you! :)

It's always a real nice flavour enhancer when Curie comes along and boosts a post hey?

Absolutely. :) I actually run a contest that Curie helps to sponsor and I've seen quite a few curies given out to the players in the contest over the past couple years, though never got to know what it felt like personally to get a curie myself until recently.

I've only had it happens two times now so far I think, but both times it has been pretty awesome. :D I kinda doubt it would ever get old either. So... Yeah, that's a big yes from me. Heh.

Interesting reflection. He who sows always reaps. If your sowing is for the good of others you will reap good things. A pleasure to have read you @apolymask

Glad you thought it was interesting. In regard to those who sow good or bad receiving like in return... Sometimes, though I don't think that is necessarily "always" the case. I wish it was! That would be great, and it is awesome when people do good things and get good things in return! However, sometimes I think people get punished or even killed for doing good things, so... It certainly varies in my opinion.
Thank you for reading and sharing some of your thoughts! Peace.

Interesting reflection indeed. As for the word morality comes from the Latin moralis and means "what is relative to customs". Morality is what is right or wrong to do based on the customs of our ancestors, and as the ancestors of different cultures are different, morality is in effect, not subjective, but relative.

What I do think is objective and universal is good, justice, and all other ideas of this genre that we classify generally as moral, but they are not, but rather they are virtues.

Ethics is on the other hand the science that is responsible for studying which parts of morality are linked to the universal idea of ​​good, and which others are simply adopted as correct because they are socially correct according to custom.

Again, interesting reflection, greetings!

In the online etymological dictionary I use I don't see anything about "what is relative to customs".
Here is what it says.

morality (n.)
late 14c., moralite, "moral qualities, virtuous conduct or thought," from Old French moralite (Modern French moralité) "moral (of a story); moral instruction; morals, moral character" (13c.) and directly from Late Latin moralitatem (nominative moralitas) "manner, character," from Latin moralis "of manners or morals; moral" (see moral (adj.)). Meaning "doctrine or system of ethical duties" is from mid-15c. Meaning "goodness, characteristic of being moral, virtuousness" is attested from 1590s.

I think maybe the words customs and manners are being umm... Synonymously used here. But, there are quite a few different meanings from around the world and not just one meaning.

In response to you saying morality is relative, um... To an extent I agree, but I think it's also subjective and universal as well. I believe it's all of those things.

What I do think is objective and universal is good, justice, and all other ideas of this genre that we classify generally as moral, but they are not, but rather they are virtues.

Could you expand on this a little bit? What about people who don't believe in good and justice? Also, how would you distinguish virtues from morals? I'm not trying to argue, I'm genuinely curious. :)

Ethics is on the other hand the science that is responsible for studying which parts of morality are linked to the universal idea of ​​good, and which others are simply adopted as correct because they are socially correct according to custom.

That's interesting cause when I read up on ethics I got the impression it was more of a "customs" sort of word than morality, though at this point I think the slang and blurring of things have pretty much turned the words into synonyms even if they technically do have some significant historical distinctions.

Thanks for thinking the reflection was interesting and for sharing some of your thoughts, I liked reading what you had to say and I learned a lil bit! Also, greetings to you as well. :)

Thanks! The difference between virtue and morality is that morality is acting based on the manners, as you say, of a society, doing the socially acceptable according to manners or customs, the traditionally correct. While the virtues are those qualities that refer to what is universally correct. Someone of a specific religion may be immoral in some place where their religion is not practiced, yet be virtuous at last.

People who don't believe in good and justice, and other similar ideas, tend to confuse it with morality and also believe that they are relative or subjective.

In case you are interested, here I leave a link for a post that I did talking about whether the good, the justice, etc. are relative or not.

You're welcome. Thank you as well for responding and going into more detail.

While the virtues are those qualities that refer to what is universally correct.

I'm not sure humans could ever agree on what is universally correct in almost any sense, but... I think I sorta get what you mean and I'm glad you brought my attention to this word after not hearing it much since I was a kid. I've found myself using the word virtue now numerous times in exchange of morality and I think it fits better in a lot of cases where I was using morality before.

People who don't believe in good and justice, and other similar ideas, tend to confuse it with morality and also believe that they are relative or subjective.

Well, I asked for a similar reason as to what I just said above about universal agreement. Many people believe differently and who is to say who is right?

Also, thanks for the link... I'll check it out.

Many people believe differently and who is to say who is right?

I think the same.

Congratulations @apolymask, your post has been featured in the latest Curie Author Showcase.
On behalf of @curie I thank you for your time and for creating amazing content. Keep up the good work!
Sincerely,
Ivan (@curie curator)

Thanks ivanm7! I'll have to head over to that link and check it out in a moment.
You're welcome for the time to create the content. :) I will do my best to keep up the good work and thank you for the encouraging response and for the work you do as well! Cheers.

I believe that morality belongs exclusively to the human being.
It distinguishes us.
The opposite is a behavior devoid of love, empathy and ethics.
Good reflection.
Congrats on Curie vote!

Why do you believe morality belongs exclusively to humans if you don't mind me asking? I think animals show signs of morality as well. They have strong family values, they sometimes even help animals from other species. I think they show love and empathy and if aliens exist or other beings elsewhere I think they might likely have a sense of morality as well.
Thanks for appreciating the reflection and for the congrats on the curie vote! I appreciate it. :)

Regards @apolymask
Thanks for reading my answer.
When I talk about morality or think about it, I usually relate it to my ability to do or not do something, say or not say something, and make a decision based not on my primary needs but on a code of principles based on respect and love towards others.
And this "too" includes my environment not only to people.
Although in recent studies animals show the things you say, very rarely their decisions are based on the behavior codes that humans have.
A hungry animal will see a food that does not belong to him and probably does not question whether he should eat it or not. He knows he has a basic need and must satisfy it.
That is what I meant.

Regards to you as well and you're welcome for reading your answer. :)
Thank you for clarifying and expanding.
It's true that animals rarely base their behavior on human code, and I believe humans have a much more sophisticated sense of morality. Though, I do think animals have their own form... And if you think of it, the word animal in etymological history essentially means any spirit or soul and that includes humans, so humans are technically animals as well from my perspective and based on the definition of the word.

A hungry animal will see a food that does not belong to him and probably does not question whether he should eat it or not. He knows he has a basic need and must satisfy it.

True, but many humans will do this also.

Anyways... Thank you again for answering more and explaining what you think!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63643.10
ETH 2582.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75