You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Open letter to change voting patterns | A plea to give #NewSteem a chance

in #plea4 years ago

I don't think newsteem was just about getting the word about Steem out there, I agree we need more of that and it has been really difficult to find people interested in onboarding even with good incentives behind it. I do think newsteem should be about honest curation and one reason I do believe posts have gone down is because there is a shift happening where those who posted just to farm their guaranteed ROI from buying votes are stopping and the authors who never bought votes and are now receiving curation are starting to realize what is going on and that may take some more time for those to either come back or new ones to join and notice that it might be worth it to stick around as there's a lot more eyes on their posts. Yes, that is also hard to measure since comments are down a lot but it just means we need to go out of our way to onboard more people. The majority don't know about Steem and its advantages outside of the rewards, many we have onboarded lately have been really surprised that there aren't more users here cause even their first weeks have been awesome and they loved the community.

While OCD will focus on onboarding and retention in the near future part of it is also making sure with OCDB that stake does not go back to be used in oldsteem ways.

Also I know you were one of the main people who started the "newsteem" movement and I'm not trying to tell you what it is, just the way how I saw it be considering the EIP changes and what it means for Steem and a working content discovery and stake distribution moving forward after two years of vote selling and only a little altruistic curation.

Sort:  

I'm for manual curation when possible, with both upvotes and downvotes and I think it is beneficial for the community. I do not think that group downvotes without thoughtful review of the content and engagement is meeting that criteria.

Also, I don't consider protecting and growing one's own investment to be altruistic in any sense of the word.

If you guys are going to continue this approach my suggestion would be to tone it down.

Personally, I think if the same amount of effort and coordination were focused on talking about Steem and spreading the word it would be a much better use of time.

Again, I am not suggesting that you have to listen to me, after all others have trusted you with their stake and maybe you should just quiet down and do your thing. :)

Vote trading is the same as self-voting, buying profitable votes is still the same thing that goes against the EIP. We have 1 user focusing on downvotes lately so it's not like we're giving it our all attention hence some times some votes get downvoted a bit too much or not enough.

Anyway, I agree we should put more effort into spreading the word about Steem and even better onboarding users and guiding them through the learning curve. Feel free to join our onboarding program to help out with that.

I self upvote once a day as I always have and have made many posts about it. I hold more stake than you do and have never had a large delegation. I earned and bought my stake and have manually curated nearly every day for 3.5 years. I've made casual yet popular posts most of those days too. Yeah, totally seems like I should be a target, I've been such a bad abuser of Steem. Huge eye roll and some cuss words here.

As if there was a concern someone couldn't have just messaged me.

I didn't throw any rocks at you guys... smh

Why are you writing this? lol, how do you know how much stake I have?

I just said that's what it seems like as you always come with the controversial comments that naturally cause a lot of heat.

Yeah, totally seems like I should be a target

Do you think you'll be a target of ocdb's downvotes?

I thought that is what you are implying above.

I don't personally see you as a vote-trader. Mainly those where outgoing and incoming votes are a majority from the same users in stake, while I personally also may vote on some people I value here on Steem and they value what I do when it goes over a certain threshold and there's no connection between the users beside the size of their wallets it is hard to not label it vote-trading which is the same as 10x self-voting daily or delegating to a bid bot for the same if not higher returns.

🌽🍿🤭

Posted using Partiko iOS

I bet that would apply to your posts as well as many others.

I do not think that group downvotes without thoughtful review of the content and engagement is meeting that criteria.

Are you counting downvote trails as group downvotes or are you saying downvoting anything that vote-trades and buys votes as group downvoting? We have minded the content in the past with out downvotes even on vote-buys so it's curation as well even tho this one doesn't get you any returns and only wastes all of your time going down the rabbit hole of explaining to them why they were downvoted.

I don't consider protecting and growing one's own investment to be altruistic in any sense of the word.

? Letting others earn 3x-4x more ROI than you do because they are risking their investment going to shit which it did while you try to keep users and retention going is not altruistic? Seemed to work well for donkeypong and those who could've made a lot more SP before they left after they realized it was all for nothing. What do you call those who didn't care about their investment and the currency at all throughout the years and just sold out turning Steem into a pile of proof of stake where content was just a placeholder piece of garbage?

Not to sound rude but sometimes it seems you just like to comment everywhere to seem important.

No, I meant that curating and downvoting is growing or protecting the investment.

Ait I'm done replying to your ninja edits

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70463.21
ETH 3549.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.87