Piston.Rocks - The Swiss army knife for Steem

in #piston8 years ago

To all Python developers that would like to use Steem programmatically and didn't know how to do it:

I am glad to introduce http://piston.rocks a command-line tool and library to build

  • custom apps
  • specialized user interfaces
  • automatic post interaction
  • and many more things

As usual, it holds:

  • You can build whatever you can think of and
  • The sky is the limit

Have fun!

Meta

If you want to contribute to the library, please don't hesitate and join the develop branch on github, send pull request or contact me directly.

Sort:  

I like the URL :-)

Yhea .. me too .. It took me a while to go through a list of available domains and when I saw this one .. I had to stop and get it!
Fortunately it was still available :)

I like the URL too! smile

I also grabbed a few cool steemit related URLs for projects I would like to do. I usually work alone or with my small team, but might need/want some collab with my future steem projects.

So my background is with .NET on WIndows servers, and most of what I come across is written in javascript or python for Linux systems. Does anyone know of any work being done on steem related projects using .NET on Windows? I know javascript fairly well, and jQuery. But haven't worked with Python and although I have Ubantu on a VM and an older computer, I haven't done much on the OS.

If not, I'll have to study this most excellent Piston.Rocks project, and try to translate, or maybe use it as a communication layer with the Steem blockchain.

I am also looking at the Steem RPC library for javascript: steem-rpc at https://steemit.com/steem/@svk/steem-rpc-library-for-javascript-steem-rpc

as well as steemjs at https://github.com/pharesim/steemjs which seems to be the simplest of all.

I notice they all are talking to the Steemit public websocket api at wss://steemit.com/ws
I am familiar with using GET and POST to talk to web APIs, so talking to this websocket might be similar, but I need to research that.

I also see mention of using a Steemit API such as

var Api = new client(options);

in the Steem RPC library; but then in other places on here, I have read that there is NO Steem API. SO I'm confused about that!

In any case, thanks so much to you, @xeroc, and other programmers who have shared code from their projects, so that others can research them and makes something of their own!

I have found Piston very useful.. thanks xeroc!

Nice! :) "doobidoo"! lol

@xeroc this is nice! I'm about to get cooking!

Can this be used to make steem tipping bots similar to the reddit bots? :)

sure. I know that sharebits is working on a tipping bit for steem(it)

On steemit tools the app
The Swiff Army Knife for the Steem network. A command line tool for simplified blockchain querying.

SwiSS ?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59561.47
ETH 3012.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77