Pinball Through the Ages: Some Gottlieb Games from the 1950s

in #pinball6 years ago

MarbleQueen4.png
Turn off that video game for a few moments and let me tell you more about where it all began. As a pinball fan, I enjoy playing vintage games whenever I can find them. Before games were in computers, they were made mechanically. There is something so refreshingly "real" about watching the parts operate like clockwork as you play. The old 1950s pinball sets may not have offered the depth and variation of more recent games, but those wooden rails and manually-operated catapults can get the blood pumping. Here are some great pinball machines from the 1950s made by D. Gottlieb & Company, which had some of the best designs and artwork. Together, these machines exemplify how the game looked back then; they also give us a hint of what it meant to a generation of youngsters (and geezers).

Mystic Marvel

MysticMarvel3.jpg
MysticMarvel2.jpg
MysticMarvel1.jpg

This pinball game was made by Gottlieb in 1954. The company had a history of using card-related themes. This game included a double-award option, which was rare, doubling the number of replays if you began with two quarters. The beautiful design was anchored by a target in the top center. There were card hands on three levels, beginning with the “8” and “9” sets above and the face card flush near the target. If you completed the correct sequence, then the target would activate for a potential reward. It was possible that you could get all three of these in a single game, though difficult.

Ace High

AceHigh1.jpg
AceHigh2.jpg
AceHigh3.jpg
AceHigh4.jpg

Like Mystic Marvel, this Gottlieb machine had a card theme. The name was similar to Aces High by Bally, but the two were not related (other than by theme). This 1957 game offered bulls-eye and special rewards for hitting a certain number of queens, kings, or aces. There were two gobble holes and two large side bumpers, which did not produce high bounces.

The company that made this game included its slogan on the back plate: “Amusement Pinballs. As American as Baseball and Hot Dogs.” The flippers continued being operable after the game was over. This was the last pinball game to have that capability, since later machines began to turn off the flippers between games. The PSP video game Pinball Hall of Fame: Gottlieb Collection included Ace High as its sole 1950s representative.

Marble Queen

MarbleQueen2.jpg

MarbleQueen3.jpg

This was another creation of Gottlieb’s Roy Parker. The theme was a club that featured beautiful girls in the latest 1950s swimwear (see video clip below for more on that). The centerpiece looked more like billiard balls than marbles, but the name also referred to the numbered marble bulbs that lit up. When activated, they allowed you to get the ball into the gobble hole in the middle, which spit it out again. Many top players avoided these holes because they altered the game somewhat. If you got all five balls in the gobble hole, you won a replay, and each gobbled ball lit up one of the A, B, C, D slots on the lower half of the table for more scoring opportunities.

Super Jumbo

SuperJumbo1.jpg
SuperJumbo3.jpg

The Jumbo game featured an elephant and circus theme, named after the 19th Century star of P.T. Barnum’s circus. It was one of the earliest games to have fluorescent bulbs and some scoring pieces that rotated. With the different numbered slot above, the spinning pieces, the mystery scoring target in the center, and the pop bumpers, this was an attractive design with great artwork. However, the negative space towards the bottom was cavernous enough that many balls were lost and there was less element of control with this game than others of its era.

You Can Still Play These Games!

RoanokePinball.jpg
Source: Roanoke Pinball Museum.

If you love pinball (or have never played a real game and would like to try), look online to see if there are any public machines near you. Pinside.com has a list of locations around the world where you can still find a game, though the heaviest clusters by far are in the United States, Western Canada, and Northern Europe (France and the Netherlands seem especially well-represented). https://pinside.com/pinball/map/where-to-play In North America, there is another very good resource that lists public games by location: https://pinballmap.com .

When in Southern California, especially if you are driving from Los Angeles or San Diego to the Palm Springs area, definitely check out the Museum of Pinball in Banning, California. It claims to have the largest group of active games today with around 600 machines you can play. The Silverball Museum in Asbury Park, New Jersey also has a similar number of games available, though I have yet to visit that one. A number of smaller museums exist also in various locations; I can personally recommend the ones in Seattle, Alameda, and Miami, which I have tried. For a list of other pinball “museums” (where you can play a selection of different games on quarter slots or for the price of an entry ticket), please have a look at the list on this page: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pinball_museum . One of these days, I might have to order my own antique pinball machine!

References:
Silverball Museum (NJ and FL)
Miami Pinball Museum
Pacific Pinball Museum
Pinballbayarea.com
Roanoke Pinball Museum
Pinside.com (with some great info on each of the games)
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ace_High_(pinball)
http://www.ipdb.org/machine.cgi?id=1541 (which also has feature pages for each game)

Photos by the author or as credited in the text, except for Ace High photos, which are from www.pinrepair.com. Top photo by the author.

Sort:  

@donkeypong, Ten years ago I was huge fan of Pinball gaming and currently totally stop with working. It's very interesting game to me than wars, races indeed games. I played better pinball. But never know when it started or who created. But now I totally updated from those points. Currently for gaming use massive condition indeed laptops and computer. Children and younger can get amazing experience better now. Awesome to watch Gottlieb's Pinball Woodrails Mystic Marvel 1954 video. It show how was play long years ago.

If you love pinball (or have never played a real game and would like to try), look online to see if there are any public machines near you. Pinside.com has a list of locations around the world where you can still find a game.

Hope to play again and refresh my mind. Thanks you for remind me again interesting Gottlieb machinery game.

PS:- I see now you have 19999 followers. Only one follower needed to reach massive achievement of your steemit journey. Congrats to you Tom.

Haha. Thank you. You sound like a true pinball fan. I seem to get more followers when I donate money to sponsor contests or meetups, if anyone wants my secret. Of course, that's not the main reason I try to help, since I want to introduce more people to Steem. :)

Pinball brings me very nice memories of my childhood, but I am young enough not to have been able to play physically. I remember that with my first computer the Windows 98 pinball game was great, I was competing with my friends to achieve the best score. It hurt a bit when they removed it in the following Windows updates, but now that I just saw your post I want to find a way to download it in Windows 10

But I think that my experience does not compare to mid-century and the 70-80's when you could go with your friends to play in the arcade, it should have been fun.

Yes, aside from a couple of games that were available nearby, I largely learned it from a computer also. It's less nostalgia for me than it is honoring the past. And once I did play these games more in physical form, I learned to appreciate them.

Yep I remember i played that too

Video pinball games are some of those games you get rid of as you start advancing in technology since they get little marketting. But I have to admit it's always exciting whenever you come across one to play. Hitting the ball and struggling to keep it up to avoid it from dropping is a thrilling experience. Though I have to admit I haven't got a chance to try out a physical game like those listed above. They truly are worth a try from the description you've given them. A great history one ought to be part of by playing the game. Ace high looks amusing; the special rewards for hitting a certain number of queens, kings, or aces. I need to know how one achieves that. I've started a pinball game hunt here in the country hope I get one and get to feel the exciting experience your talking about @donkeypong.

Good luck finding one! I know it isn't easy, outside of those places where some pockets of fans have kept the machines alive.

Awesome post!!!

I always wondered why the flippers didn't work on the newer pinball machines. Of course this was around the early 80's when I was playing them. Thanks for the list and where to find some PB's in the states.

This post reminds me of THE WHO'S PINBALL WIZARD.

The one thing that really bothered me about pinball machines was when the owners would raise the back legs to make the balls speed down the slant faster and make the game end quicker. That was a crap move and is the reason why I didn't like wasting money on that game, but when they were set up right, it was an awesome skill game to play.

Raising the legs: You just needed to bring a friend to lift up the front of the machine while you played and throw a couple of schoolbooks down there...TILT! :) There were some great games in the 80s and 90s also. At first, I thought you meant the Dr. Who game, which was a great one, but I'd almost forgotten about the Who (band) song. I'll have to listen to that again. Thanks for the comment.

Oh man, pinball machines are a family favourite! I want to get a few when I get my own place, Addams Family, Doctor Who, and the Gopher one as they are the best childhood memories with how much we played them.

They never get old either, especially when trying to beat high scores!

Great choices! The last "museum" I went to had a Dr. Who machine and I played it for easily 20 minutes.

It was at the hotel my family went to when I was an early teen, I would always check it and the arcade machines for money which sometimes would be there, but played Dr Who everytime I was there.

Thank you for the walk down memory lane!! I have such fond memories of skipping high school, walking with my friends down to the local pool hall, and playing pinball games for hours hahaha How I ever became a high school teacher is sometimes well beyond me :)

My husband Brian, and I, went on an epic road trip for a month across the States a few years ago, and while in Vegas, stopped at Rick's Restorations where he happened to be working on a couple of these beauties (and of course had some in the "museum" portion of his shop. It really is true, they just don't make 'em like they used to :)

Thank you again for this post...so awesome!

That's great. And good point about the restorers; sometimes they have a few games you can play. I've seen some come up in that location search from the pinballmap.com site (which is for North America). Best wishes to you!

Yes, it's like showing off their baby! "Go ahead, give it a whirl" :) The only problem with restorers is that when they see the finished product, they no longer want to sell it :)

Thank you for the well wishes!

Before I never thought that there are no physical pinball machines and I only have seen those at video games which I often cuss because I never won anything from it. @donkeypong These are truly are like art in themselves because of the intricacies on how they are built.

I've never played any of them. I was born only 40 years later :D

Pinball is one of my favorite recreational machines, I remember when they were in fashion, I could not get away from their attractive and excellent models, now in my country you do not see much, I can only play it through the PC. Thank you for bringing these excellent memories @donkeypong

Thanks for the comment. The games are not bad on the computer, but it's like the difference between reading a good book and then seeing someone try to make it into a movie.

Exactly, it's not the same, I just stay in consolation because more I could never see one on these sides XD

You've really educated me today. I've heard of pinball but didn't know how it even looked like. I have seen this game electronically embedded into the application softwares of some windows, like the windows xp and some old versions of windows has this pinball. Tried to play once but didn't even understand.

Thanks for the comment. I'm glad you learned something new about the past. These games are fun on the computer also.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53406.14
ETH 2398.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15