Pickle Day

in #pickles7 years ago

IMG_1458.JPG

Last year I had the pleasure of learning the art of pickling from my mother in law. It was fantastic! She has been making pickles for many years, and as my own mother puts it, 'she has it down to a science'.

IMG_1454.JPG

IMG_1435.jpg

We started off by heading to the garden. She let us use some of her gardening space the past few years, and use it we have! We have an enormous list of food we have grown there, I'll spare you that because you can read all about it in our 'Growing Food 2017' post. The black beans and corn are especially impressive this year!

IMG_1342.JPG

Anyway, back to the pickles, we went out and filled our buckets with yummy veggies; cucumbers, crooked neck squash, carrots, onions, zucchini plus some garlic and dill.

IMG_1424.JPG

Next, the prep work, all those veggies weren't going to cut peel and slice themselves after all!

IMG_1432.JPG

IMG_1431.JPG

IMG_1430.JPG

IMG_1425.JPG

Meanwhile my lovely mother in law got to work with the brine, I shocked (more like grossed out) her a bit because I brought apple cider vinegar and natural sea salt instead of the standard white vinegar and 'pickling salt'. The look on her face whenever she smelled the ACV was priceless, she hates it! haha

IMG_1434.JPG

IMG_1437.jpg

Her recipe for 6 quart jars of pickles is 2 cups of vinegar, 1/2 cup salt, and 9 cups of water for the brine, then 2 cloves of garlic and one sprig of dill in a jar, stuff with cucumbers, then two more cloves of garlic and another dill sprig.

IMG_1438.jpg

Keeping everything sterile and hot is key, and don't forget to prick the pickles first!

IMG_1457.JPG

IMG_1459.JPG

Someone was eager!

IMG_1456.JPG

Sort:  

Looks like quite the garden haul!!

It was crazy! LoL we barely keep up!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @theneohippy to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

Thanks babe! :)

Awesome post. Got my vote and happily will follow. :)

Thank you so much! I really appriciate it!

Oh and forgotten to mention resteemed.

Haha great pic!! Thanks so much!! :)

Holy Pickles what an amazing post! I found you through the MAP contest post and I am really glad I did! Thank your for taking the time to make this very thorough and well illustrated/photographed post. I mean to make pickles every year and we rarely do (been several years now). I will share this post with my wife and hopefully it gives us the motivation to pickle some of the amazing produce available to us here in the Willamette Valley. Cheers - Carl

Thank you carl! Pickles are awesome! I hope your wife sets you up with enough for the winter! :)

Had to check out your post as pickle making is on my agenda this afternoon. Picked 40 yesterday and have them sliced and "resting" in salt now. I'm trying a new recipe...Curry Pickles. It's been a great year for them here. (love your pics)

Oh wow curry pickles! Sounds interesting for sure!! You've got a busy day ahead huh :) I hope you make a post about them!

Those look amazing - I love pickles!!!

Thanks! We do too! :)

Great photos! Your pickles look amazing. I have started fermenting preserves a bit. Have you tried that?

Thanks!! Yes we love ferments too! So good for the gut :)
What's your favourites?

Pretty sure I'm addicted to spicy hot kimchi. But I love sauerkraut and fermented dill pickles.

Nice! I'm not a lover of spicy myself.. Garden fresh fermented carrots are probably my favourite :)

Yum. Yup I did a batch of carrots, celery, garlic and cauliflour with dill sprigs. Was pretty amazing, all cut up into fork sized pieces to just add to a plate as a side! I tried broccoli and the smell was hard for me to get past, didn't like that one at all.

That sounds so good!

But not so much the broccoli! LoL
I don't think I'll be trying that one!

@Theneohippy,

This gem of a post was discovered by the @OCD Curator Group!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used on our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

All of those look so fresh and delicious! Love the photos! Thanks for sharing with us on Steemit!

Please Reply and I will nominate your post to the @OCD Curation group!

Thanks so much! I would appreciate the support :) Share away!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94