Play in the mud and learn to grow food...It's good for your brain!

in #photos8 years ago (edited)

ScreenShot2016-07-15at10.29.34AM.png

A photographic introduction to my Caribbean vegetable garden...

I can't really remember exactly how I got into gardening. Which is really strange because it was only a few years ago that I tried growing my first tomato plant.

I'm pretty sure it was a failure. (This was not from that first attempt!)

I didn't know what I was doing, but it was a start.

I think the idea of growing your own food is was what really attracted me.

image975f2.jpg

Eggplant for dinner?

Somewhere along the line I had the thought that if it all went to shit - the economy, or Armageddon or zombies or something - I had no real life skills.

Being able to sit in front a computer and design pretty things wouldn't really help shelter, feed or clothe me. I wasn't about to become a master carpenter or seamstress so learning the basics of growing food seemed like a good plan!

But more seriously, I was trying to cultivate habits that improved and maintained a good frame of mind. We often make conscious efforts to maintain our physical health but I think, at least for some of us, the same level of effort needs to be exerted in learning skills that maintain our mental health as well.

And gardening, for me, is one of those skills. Research indicates that several aspects of gardening are really great at boosting mental wellness. From bacteria in the soil that boost serotonin, the dopamine released when we harvest our produce to the very act of just getting outside and moving around in the sunshine and nature.

Tomato nursery. The fact that you can grow a new tomato plant from a piece of another over and over again is magical!

The first vegetable (fruit?) I tried growing was tomato. It seemed so quintessentially "vegetable garden"!

ScreenShot2016-07-15at8.30.10AM.png

And it seems that I quickly got the hang of it.

ScreenShot2016-07-15at8.30.16AM.png

ScreenShot2016-07-15at8.30.52AM.png

Learnt all about Blossom End Rot (BER) along the way

ScreenShot2016-07-15at10.31.50AM.png

My husband was very supportive of my new hobby.

Basil

ScreenShot2016-07-15at10.32.19AM.png

Basil is very easy to grow. The key is to prune well!

Then when the plant is starting to get old and woody - take a cutting and put it in some water for a couple days with some sunshine until you see some roots and replant (kitchen windowsill work wonderfully)

imagef88f8.jpg

image by jamtaylor

And voila - new plants !
ScreenShot2016-07-15at10.31.28AM.png

Cilantro / Coriander

Living on a small island means a lot of our food and resources are imported. It also means sometimes things are imported that have no business being imported when they can be grown locally! I've seen Cilantro imported from Israel on sale here for USD$10 - that's $20 in local currency!

So I decided to grow my own!

ScreenShot2016-07-15at10.32.45AM.png

Interestingly, I was able to grow from whole coriander seeds I bought in the spice aisle at the supermarket for a dollar or two!

ScreenShot2016-07-15at10.32.03AM.png

Sweet Potato

The wonderful thing about living in the tropics is that there's no winter - so all year long is gardening time. To grow these sweet potatoes I literally just put some leftover ends of sweet potato that was bought at the supermarket into a barrel of soil , make sure it was watered if it didn't rain and a few months later...

More potatoes!

ScreenShot2016-07-15at10.30.46AM.png

I actually really enjoyed learning to recognize and love the different flowers that even a vegetable garden has!

Garlic Chive flowers

ScreenShot2016-07-15at8.33.43AM.png

Zucchini Flower

IMG_6803.jpg

I never got any fruit from my zucchini plants though - A challenge for another day!

And of course my favorite, Passion Fruit flowers

image284bb.jpg

ScreenShot2016-07-15at10.29.34AM.png

ScreenShot2016-07-15at8.33.34AM.png

Mmm tasty passion fruit! This vine went crazy!!

One of my other favorite things is seeing seedlings break the surface and sprout!

ScreenShot2016-07-15at8.33.23AM.png

Malabar Spinach

It's such a hopeful sight!

You don't need a lot of land to start gardening.

Most of my gardening was done in containers.

ScreenShot2016-07-15at10.30.22AM.png

IMG_5830.jpg

Various lettuce, Arugula etc

IMG_58891.jpg

In fact all my harvests - except for passions fruit and banana were planted in containers varying from traditional planter boxes for lettuce etc to 5 gallon buckets for Tomatos and eggplant. The largest container being half wooden barrels.

imagea8a0c.jpg

Chinese Cabbage!

ScreenShot2016-07-15at8.34.30AM.png

Dinner from the garden.

ScreenShot2016-07-15at8.30.35AM.png

purple basil and sweet pepper

Home grown sweet pepper is so delicious! I noticed how much richer it even smelt!

image3f16d.jpg

ScreenShot2016-07-15at10.31.18AM.png

Tomatoes, eggplant, beans and more sweet pepper!

ScreenShot2016-07-15at8.34.23AM.png

Bananas!

The banana tree fell over because that's something that can happen if you don't prop them well! So we had lots of Green Bananas to eat for a while!

ScreenShot2016-07-15at8.33.53AM.png

So here ends part 1 of my photographic journey through Home Gardening

image7cf15.jpg

And here is a not so flattering picture of me after pottering in the garden one Saturday morning.

Possibly coming up in Parts 2 & 3: Garden Critters and Ornamental Plants

ScreenShot2016-07-15at10.30.53AM.png

What's your favorite aspect of gardening?

What have you got growing?

Sort:  

actually great.
a few pointers!

  • focus more on one stuff and dig deep. Like, I see that you talk about tomatoes and that's cool but I can't say I'm ready to go and grow a tomato now. A step by step would be better for us newbs :)

  • make separate posts for different stuff, for example, i really want a post onhow to grow chillies and hot peppers, just an obsession of mine :)

Good luck, upvoted!

Thanks @razvanelulmarin, I Agree! This was really an Gardening intro-post / Dump and I hope to do some more precise posts as I go along.

I actually haven't had a whole lot of time for Gardening lately but just compiling this post together makes me want to get back out there and growing some stuff!

Your post is very inspiring! I think I might just go and do a spot of gardening myself!

I agree with navsg

"Interestingly, I was able to grow from whole coriander seeds I bought in the spice aisle at the supermarket for a dollar or two!" good thinking :D

year round potatoes sound like a dream
do you have to treat them for diseases?

Wonderful! As for me, I like growing flowers. But I only have 5 flowerpots. ☺ My mom has at least 150. ☺

Original content is always welcome!

They look amazing!

What should I try to grow in my garden?

you should try some aquaponics then
check out this post by @stxhoops
for a small cheap (60 usd) system great for growing herbs

What do you eat? Maybe start with something you like to cook with

Wow! I'm so envious of your lettuce! The passion fruit flowers are amazing too. So beautiful and exotic looking

favorite aspect of gardening - it quiets my mind and take me into a very relax state, cheap therapy really.
I must say wow! You've got bananas and taro .. I haven't tried growing those here I miss having the stalks sun-dried and cooked in coconut milk, garlic and onions. Plenty of suns there ! Happy gardening!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57339.41
ETH 2522.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31