Hi, I'm Tiffany. I have two different colored eyes and I'm from Barbados...

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

I'm here to Introduce myself to this intriguing new internet platform. 

Are those the most interesting things about me? My eyes? My birthplace? Perhaps...perhaps not. When asked to introduce yourself, beyond your name, what do you start with? How do you decide what handful of facts really epitomize who you are? 

I'm a graphic designer, who works in advertising. But I really prefer the design aspect of my job. 


I'm a new mom. At the moment it feels like that alone has engulfed my identity. 


Maybe that's because I'm only a few months into motherhood and these early days absorb so much of ones time and energy. But it's entirely possible it's because becoming a parent fundamentally changes who you are. I guess, with time, I'll find out.


I'm the sixth of my mothers seven children but first of my father's. I was born someone's aunt.


I live in Barbados, a small island best known for its exports of Rum and Rihanna. I always have. My family has lived in Barbados for generations, on my Mothers side. But my Father is English and moved here as a young teenager. I've been asked where I'm from in my own country more times than I could ever recall because I don't look like the average "Bajan". 



I've never lived more than 15 minutes from the beach. I've never seen snow. I learnt to swim by snorkeling in the sea over the reef, chasing fish and soaking in the colours of the coral. 


  I discovered gardening as a hobby a few years ago. I can boast harvests varying from tomatoes to sweet potato to passion fruit and much more...


However, of late, my time has been too swallowed up keeping an infant alive to keep many plants alive. 


My love of nature is probably equally matched by my love of technology. I spend my day in front a screen, and I love it. The internet is everything and anything. The largest library, a room to chat with friends, an art gallery, the public courtyard...

I was introduce to Steemit by my husband @jamtaylor . He's been talking about it for weeks now, and normally I would have been all over this sort of thing! But alas, new motherhood takes its toll on your time. 


But I'm here now and I'm  excited to see what Steemit becomes and I look forward to both contributing and seeing what this platform brings to the fore. 


So hello Steemit! I'm Tiffany, how are you?


ps. Sorry for any wonky formatting or typos. I'm writing this on mobile (baby in arms) and the interface is a bit glitchy. 

Sort:  

Wow, this is great - well done. Inspires me to actually take some time to do a proper introduction post!

Hi Tiffany, how about letting us know more about your garden?

I'll work on it ;)

Love the tomato photos!!

heterochromia !

how cool is that. I remember in elementary school there was a kid with one blue eye and one green eye. how unique is that?

I have one green and one (mostly) blue as well! When people have the blue/brown combo I find it's the most striking!

Welcome Tiffany. Enjoy and soak up every minute with your precious child, they grow up way to fast.

Welcome, I really love that vegetable chess grid.

Thanks! That was from the year I really got into it. I tended to snap a photo whenever I harvested something - after a year I threw this compilation together.

Lots of small harvests frequently - I did container gardening mostly.

Hi Tiffany! Great introduction post and glad to have you here at Steemit. I'm great, thanks for asking. Still excited about this platform and all that if offers the community. Thanks for making this post in your limited time; motherhood is time consuming for sure. Great pictures too!

Thanks!

And I was wondering if anyone would chime in with how they are ;) hahah.

Here's a cookie!

Welcome! Great introduction. Being a parent definitely changes everything!

Indeed it does!
Thanks :)

Welcome to Tifanny Steemit, there are some moms already in here, I've never been to the sea btw, I've never been anywhere outside Nepal.

Welcome Tiffany!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57544.06
ETH 2338.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35