The Best For The Best

in #photos6 years ago (edited)

I usually manage to persuade my husband, but this time he was determined. "The best for the best!" He said.

The day after my daughter's birthday it was my birthday too. (Yeah, 28 years ago I gave birth to my daughter, and she was the most excellent birthday present I could get.)

This year my husband wanted to take me out for dinner in some fancy restaurant. Otherwise, I would be thrilled but this time as we recently made some new significant investments and had a lot of expenses, I thought, it would be wiser if we celebrate my birthday more modestly.

But, as I said, he was determined and didn't want to give up. So, we ended up in a nice restaurant, and I really enjoyed a four-course meal there. And of course, I couldn't resist taking the photos.

Four-Course Dinner

For the cold appetizer, we had monkfish carpaccio served with a full basket of warm and tasty different kind of rolls and buns.

monkfish carpaccio

rolls and buns

After that, as a warm appetizer, we had traditional with the cream gratinated cheese strudel called "Štrukli" (Shtrukli), a specialty from Zagorje region, but also famous in other parts of northern Croatia.

cream gratinated cheese strudel

For the main course, we had grilled turkey fillet with avocado salsa, baked potatoes, and grilled tomatoes.

I don't remember that I tried avocado salsa ever before. Therefore, I have to admit I was a bit skeptic. Although it was more like avocado purée than avocado salsa, it was so delicious that I would order it alone if possible.

main course - grilled turkey fillet with avocado salsa

For dessert, my husband ordered the three-layer chocolate cake when I took the lemon cake very alike the cheesecake.

three-layer chocolate cake

lemon cake

I enjoyed not only that meal but the whole day, and I hope we would find some good cause to repeat it shortly. 😊


Photos source:
All photos in this article are my own, taken with my Samsung Galaxy S9+ mobile phone. ~ © 2018 AMS - steemit.com/@ana-maria ~ All rights reserved!


Posted on Monday, July 30, 2018


SteemitBoard Ana-Maria Personal Badges

Sort:  

Happy birthday to you too! I see you enjoyed it! Wishing you a great year and much more!!

Nom nom nom :D :D

hahaha - Thanks! 😊

You have collected your daily Power Ups! Your posts received total upvotes worth of 1.54$.
Learn how to power up smart here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62025.78
ETH 2417.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49