Lens focal length distribution in Guilin - Part 3

in #photomag5 years ago

Yesterday I gave an introduction to my analysis, which may actually also be read as a very lengthy disclaimer.

_DSF0535_XGA.jpg
A stitched panorama photo, taken at with a
95mm focal length using the Fujinon 55-200mm lens

Today, I will show the first results of my data analysis.

The planned photography tour will be taking place in the greater Guilin area, as well as in Shenzhen. The photography requirements for these two areas will be very different, so I thought it good to break it up into several different analyses.

Today, we look at Landscape Photography in Guilin.

apc-format.png
Focal length distribution from 62 landscape photos

I want to remind you that I am using the Fujifilm system which has an APS-C crop size sensor. The recent modern photography was built from the 35mm film size, and when people refer to a specific focal length, they also imply the actual field of view, but with a crop sensor, the field of view is narrower and this has an influence on the end result. So, when reading my analysis, keep this in mind. For instance, a 9 mm focal length on the Fujifilm system with has the same field of view of a 14mm lens on a Sony A7iii or on a Canon 5d or a Nikon D850.

35mm format.png
Focal length distribution from 62 landscape photos - 35mm Field-of-View

So, if you are a photographer using a full-frame camera, please keep in mind the focal length I am talking about, needs to be converted by multiplying it by 1.5 to get the equivalent field of view on your full-frame lenses.

For simplicity, I will give also display the same graph with the 35mm field-of-view equivalents.

_XT22822_XGA.jpg
A photo taken at the Longji rice fields at 200mm focal length.

To make the graph readable, I decided to group certain focal lengths to together, mostly so that it also fits into my prime lens collection focal lengths.

Not surprising to me, is that 44% of all the landscape photos I am happy with, would easily be covered by using the Fijinon 10-24mm lens.

The fact that 32% of the photos were taken with my 35mm lens, was a surprise to me. I know I love this lens and focal length a lot, but I thought I am mainly using it for street photography!

I decided that today's post will be dedicated to the telephoto focal length range, 90 to 200mm. Only 10% of my photos were taken in this focal range, with only two abstract photos taken in the rice fields at the 200mm focal length.

I decided to exclude the photos I showed in the first post taken and the Longji rice fields, as I took it as a series and it will unnecessarily skew the results.

_DSF0360_XGA.jpg
A photo taken at 90mm focal length.

I started this post with a panorama photo taken at 95mm focal length. Some people may argue that I could get the same view in the camera by using a wider focal length.

That is true, but one of the properties of a wide angle lens is that objects in a distance tend to look much smaller than they are in real life. So, to emphasise these majestic mountains, I did use longer focal lengths and created quite a number of panoramas by stitching a group of photos together in post-processing.

_JVW1954.jpg
A photo taken at 116mm focal length.

So, the question is, is a 55-200mm lens needed for a trip like this, and to be honest, I do not know. I love my abstract photos, and for that reason, I will most likely carry it with me again. If you leave the abstract photos out of the equation, then a lens such as the 18-135mm of Fujifilm will cover almost all the other photos in this range.

_DSF8534_XGA.jpg
A photo taken at 164mm focal length

Except for this one...

Sort:  

Hi johannvdwalt,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Well, yah know the landscape of Steemit, people may or may not read the link and what not. So I shall make no regard to your analysis but always make remarks and comment on what caught my eyes. (Disclaimer: I read it, so yeah.) So basically: blep :p

If I hadn't known this was a panorama that was stitched, I probably thought it a far out zoom and a purely wide (landscape) photo. So that's actually pretty hecking coolio~

Data: Well this was interesting to look at (do I see Microsoft Excel pie charts here? Not saying it's bad, but pretty hecking efficient). While I may not be a handheld camera connoisseur like you definitely and professionally are, the terminology and little interweaving parts/equipment does look interesting. And thank the Flyin' Dutchman for some blurbs underneath each pie chart, since I would have to guess what the numbers actually signified (thankfully my assumption was right that it was mm focal length). Always interesting to see tid bits like this when it's not seen in other foto (photo) posts.

The examples just down below where nice to read and you going on with explanations (and possible/actual errors in data and the what nots) was just nice to read. No paragraph too big and just the right fit for what needed to be commented upon. Especially with the many examples from fields to mountains to the damn fields again to forests. (Well the last one being an outlier as yah said, for me I personally think it was because Nature does love being its own thing sometimes and not caring for human pettiness to capture everything in the lens of cameras).

So keep on taking good picturas (pictures), keep on cataloging the data and happy steemit!!!!~

Photography is certainly a form of art but I love how you exalted the technical part that almost everybody forgets or neglects and is so important for the achievement of a great picture, planning your photography trip is the best way to come back to a good material. Thanks for sharing!


This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase that will be posted in about 12 to 24 hours on the @curie blog.

NOTE: If you would like us to NOT feature your post in the Author Showcase please reply, or DM me on Discord as soon as possible. Any photos or quoted text from your post that we feature will be properly attributed to you as the author.

  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in a reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@elfranz#3985). A personal perspective from the author add great value and makes it so much fun!

You can check out our previous Author Showcase to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Thanks for your time and for creating great content.
Franz (@curie curator)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58269.58
ETH 3138.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43