Lens focal length distribution in Guilin - Part 4

in #photomag5 years ago (edited)

In today's post, I will talk about the landscape photos taken with a medium telephoto field of view.

Guilin-Landscapes-3-XGA.jpg
Photo taken with a 55mm focal length

According to Wikipedia, yesterday's telephoto lens discussion also falls in the medium telephoto range, so let me then give you my own definition of medium telephoto lenses.

Growing up in the hay day 35mm film camera era, a 40-50 mm lenses were seen as a "normal" and any focal length longer than 50mm but less than the double digits (100mm up) were classified as medium telephoto lenses. For many years, I only owned a 50mm lens and later I added a 35-75 zoom lens! It was only much later, more than 10 years of being a photographer, that I bought a 200mm real telephoto lens.

Two of my current lenses fall into this category, namely the 50mm F2 and the 55-200mm lens. Remember, 50mm on the Fujifilm system gives the equivalent field-of-view of a 75mm lens on a full-frame system.

I have surprisingly few photos in this field-of-view range that managed to get into my shortlisted photos for post-processing. Only 8 from two visits to Guilin!

Here is the distribution.

medium telephoto.png

medium telephoto35mm.png

Using this field-of-view creates dramatic mountain scenes - hence my surprise that I did not use it more often.

_XT22125_XGA.jpg
Photo taken with a 55mm focal length

Using this focal length, one is much more aware of the importance to seek out good compositions.

_XT22778_XGA.jpg
Photo taken with a 58mm focal length

I used it mostly where I had interesting cloud formations but only wanted to include a little bit of the clouds.

_JVW1975B.jpg
Photo taken with a 55mm focal length

Sort:  

Congratulations @johannvdwalt! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 6000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 7000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Happy Birthday! The Steem blockchain is running for 3 years.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61940.19
ETH 2433.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50