Work Smarter, Not Harder

in #photograpy5 years ago

smart1.jpg

You’ve heard that saying a million times before, and I’m not here to talk about that in general terms, but I wanna ponder that from my own perspective regarding creating content.

I hold myself to a pretty high standard with the posts I make, disregarding the occasional shitposts. I know how to make great photographic stories with self portraits, but they take a lot, I mean a lot a lot of time, energy and effort. I love to do them but I can’t do them all day every day, it’s too much, I would burn out.

There is a way to maximise the reward for my work, by getting a lot more material from the photoshoot than showing the actual pictures when they are done.

If I were to try and get the most out of one shoot, this is what I would do:


  1. Make a post about the process of getting ready; hair, makeup, outfit and changing things around to make a set. (This I haven't actually done but will do soon.)
  2. A behind the scenes video from the shoot.
  3. Showing the post process for the images.
  4. Posting the actual images that are ready, if there is a lot, divide into two posts.
  5. Using the leftover pictures as illustrations for written posts, essentially creating a library of different kinds of moods to be used on various different things.
  6. Post everything on Whaleshares too.

That is quite a lot more I could get out of one shoot, with pretty minimum extra effort. I don’t want to do this all for every shoot, that would become boring really fast, but I do like to often do at least one thing more than just show the readymade pictures.

Aside from the actual pictures, which part of the process you find the most interesting and would perhaps like to see more of?

Sort:  

i do love to make all of these but it sometimes hard to be and octopus, trying to make videos, take photos, make behind the scenes, b-rolls and if yourself needs to be on all of those it is even harder

Posted using Partiko Android

I totally respect the amount of work involved in photographic work. I would enjoy seeing a behind the scenes video of the shoot. I will upvote after 15 mins of course xx Resteemed

You are in luck as I just posted one two days ago! :) https://steemit.com/dtube/@eveuncovered/pzco4feh

Hahaha Yay ... off to watch right now, thanks Eve xx

Hmm I can't really pick what's the most interesting part to me, I like to see all of them and I believe each part is interesting in it's own way. But it's definitely much better than if you showed only the ready images! We get to see a whole lot more this way and I really like that about your blog :) also I've learned some stuff from you just from watching your editing process so thanks for showing us that too!

#1

While such posts may bore many readers when made too frequently, it is an unfortunate fact that the seven-day payout window does not support high-effort, high-quality posts being compensated to an adequate degree. This is why making the most of the effort you've put in by making several posts about a shoot, some being of the making-of variety, is perfectly okay in my book.

That is one thing where Whaleshares has better than Steemit, the payout window is two weeks, gives a lot more time to find and upvote great content.

It could easily be worked around by creating comments for payouts. Granted, would look ugly but it would work. Some people actually use that trick. For example, the creator of steemworld.org regularly makes posts to gain support through upvotes.

This title is so true. Would be great to see all the getting ready part. But I think I wrote it before, you have a perfect blend of writing plus photos. And you're kind of sexy. So, although there's always something one could add... your posts are great as they are 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

And for us... The less clever 😂😂 eheheh

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @eveuncovered! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 20000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 21000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Here are the winners
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hello Eve,
Excellent post and really superb motto to live by: Work Smarter, Not Harder!

You photo is brilliant as well - highly original and eye-catching!

Upvoted and resteemed :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62900.39
ETH 3357.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47