Photography 101 ~ Lesson 3 ~ How Irish Setters Get Their Color

in #photography1017 years ago

Orange Dog.JPG

An Irish Setter, black in silhouette, hurries to get his color from the orange pouring from the setting sun. This is an example of the use of one predominant color for impact, orange in this case. I tried to sneak Lesson 2, the rule of thirds, in there too. Photography 101 was initiated by @dmcamera. The lesson can be found here.

This photo was snapped near sunset at Emma Wood State Beach in Southern California using a Cannon EOS 80D, EFS 18-55 mm lens, 1/1000 sec, f/5.0, ISO 100.


Please upvote, resteem, and follow me @kunschj


Sort:  

awesome photo!

This is a beautiful example of orange being used as the predominant color! This image certainly gives a feeling of warmth and joyfulness. There's nothing much more joyful than seeing a dog running free on the beach like that. (And I love Irish setters. Used to have an Irish setter - golden retriever mix.)

The only thing I would do to this image is straighten the horizon. Do you use Photoshop or and app that can straighten it? If not, I can do it for you if you like. An extremely crooked skyline is usually ok and arty looking, but one that is slightly off is like the crooked picture that needs straightening. LOL! Thanks for participating. It's a beautiful shot!

I see what you mean. I use GIMP to edit and it has a rotation option. I will keep that tip in mind. Thanks so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58668.45
ETH 3162.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44